Mama Corleone's Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is a good recipe, but to give it more flavor complexity I would combine both sweet and hot Italian sausages and I feel the casings should always be removed because they are tough. Either break apart into bite size pieces or slice after removing casings. It also makes a better presentation that way in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I made this for my husband and he loved it. It is one of my favourites. It is easy to make and delicious. What I did differently was that I made the sausage into meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
My mom is always sauteing bell peppers and garlic that leaves something to be desired. The oregano, basil, and permesian cheese are the answer. Serving it over noodles is a great idea, but the sausage didn't do much for me. And definitely don't leave the peppers in such long strips. It makes them hard to eat. (PS- I remember reading about this in The Godfather, but it still doesn't seem like a Corleone family staple.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
My husband liked this very much. I minced 2 large cloves of garlic and used penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I was thrilled when I found this recipe, as my husband and I both love Italian sausage and pasta. I prepared it exactly as the recipe stated. It was very quick and simple to prepare. I will be serving this dish often. Thank you Mama Corleone for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This dish was hearty without being "heavy." Such a change of pace from tomato-based pasta dishes. The only thing we did different was to remove the casings completely and cook the sausage crumbled. That way, every inch of the pasta absorbed the sausage flavor. Will make again, and again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzly bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Pretty good. I used fettucine in place of spaghetti. I also broke up the sausage in big chunks as I was browning it and cut the bell pepper in very short strips. Added parsley at the end and dusted the whole thing with a generous helping of parmesan/romano cheese. A good change from the standard red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I have made this many times. I really like it. The only thing that I do different is that after I take the casings off the sausage I slice them to bite size pieces and saute. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDREASKYE
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Wonderful. Delicious! Used Penne because we don't like spaghetti and it was the best. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Delicious!! Did not have to change or alter a thing. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THECHEF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States