Mama Chiarello's Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS!!!! I made a few changes to this recipe just to keep it extra healthy. I used ground turkey in place of the beef, I used fine oat bran, instead of panko, egg white instead of the egg with the yolk, and I used Veggie Italian cheese blend over the top and Veggie sprinkled parm cheese. It was so good, My husband absolutely loved it! He wants to try this same recipe in a Portabella mushroom next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I literally just finish eating this creation, Im still soaking in the enjoyment of this meal. Very delicious. Not only is the meal great but the recipe is easy to follow and very discriptive. Definetly going to keep this one in the family recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Good! There is certainly no reason to dirty as many pans as the instructions tell you to. I sauteed the ground beef with garlic/red pepper (skipped the onion), drained and set aside. Added the chopped eggplant and some chopped mushrooms to the same pan and sauteed in a little olive oil. Then mixed it all together along with the egg, cheese, Panko, herbs, etc. Loved the Panko on top. I think I'll make this again with Italian sausage sometime. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Enjoyed this recipe alot ! Substituted romano cheese with parm. Also added a little shredded cheddar to the top over the last 10 mins of baking time. Will make this again for sure, but may add a little less bread crumbs next time !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Honestly, the house smelled DIVINE while making this recipe. I had really big hopes, but was severely disappointed. The Hubbs liked it but didn't give his normal rave reviews over one of my meals. For me, the texture was the deal-breaker. I absolutely LOATHE "mushy" and this - though cooked completely as directed with no variatioin - was way too mushy. Then again, I'm the person who won't eat the stuffing from within the Thanksgiving turkey, because I don't like the soft texture. The flavor was great, the house smelled great, the eggplant "shell" was delicious. If I could have cooked the filling separately and/or had it set up more firmly, I'd have loved it. As it is, I definitely will NOT be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I used ground turkey and added some chopped mushroom to the stuffing, and also used blue cheese in the stuffing as well. It was absolutely delicious! I've never liked eggplant but I'm glad I gave it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I just finished my meal, and it was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe as is, I only left out the basil and parsley because I didn't have any. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Absolutely fantastic!! Easy to make and delicious. My husband is not a fan of eggplant and even he loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy Piechoski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
It was a very delicious recipes, however since I am a vegetarian I substituted mushrooms for the beef. It still tasted delicious but the prep time was a little bit long for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made it last night for diner. It was AMAZING! Not only does it have a lot of fresh vegetables and herbs but some protein which made my husband very happy. The only thing I did not add was tomatoes since he is allergic, but other than that, it was truly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States