Mama Chiarello's Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I made this but did substitute the ground beef for hot turkey Italian sausage and omitted the basil. Yummy! We loved it. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by odalis
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was wonderful! Just left out the pepper and used mozzarella/Parmesan mix so I wouldn't have to go to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Absolutely fantastic!! Easy to make and delicious. My husband is not a fan of eggplant and even he loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy Piechoski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
It was a very delicious recipes, however since I am a vegetarian I substituted mushrooms for the beef. It still tasted delicious but the prep time was a little bit long for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made it last night for diner. It was AMAZING! Not only does it have a lot of fresh vegetables and herbs but some protein which made my husband very happy. The only thing I did not add was tomatoes since he is allergic, but other than that, it was truly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Honestly, the house smelled DIVINE while making this recipe. I had really big hopes, but was severely disappointed. The Hubbs liked it but didn't give his normal rave reviews over one of my meals. For me, the texture was the deal-breaker. I absolutely LOATHE "mushy" and this - though cooked completely as directed with no variatioin - was way too mushy. Then again, I'm the person who won't eat the stuffing from within the Thanksgiving turkey, because I don't like the soft texture. The flavor was great, the house smelled great, the eggplant "shell" was delicious. If I could have cooked the filling separately and/or had it set up more firmly, I'd have loved it. As it is, I definitely will NOT be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I used ground turkey and added some chopped mushroom to the stuffing, and also used blue cheese in the stuffing as well. It was absolutely delicious! I've never liked eggplant but I'm glad I gave it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was delicious! I used spinach instead of the bell pepper since I didn't have any in the house and it came out awesome! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I just finished my meal, and it was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe as is, I only left out the basil and parsley because I didn't have any. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Good! There is certainly no reason to dirty as many pans as the instructions tell you to. I sauteed the ground beef with garlic/red pepper (skipped the onion), drained and set aside. Added the chopped eggplant and some chopped mushrooms to the same pan and sauteed in a little olive oil. Then mixed it all together along with the egg, cheese, Panko, herbs, etc. Loved the Panko on top. I think I'll make this again with Italian sausage sometime. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States