Maltese Rabbit Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by everair
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe. It was an experience skinning and cleaning my son's first rabbit and then cleaning it together! Big fun. Thanks for this tasty recipe. I added the corn starch/water (2tsp/2tbsp) at the end. Served with buttermilk biscuits. I didn't have nutmeg so I used a little basil for kicks. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was great. If you like rabbit this is a great recipe. Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Leeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Living In: China, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Marinade the rabbit for a few hours even overnight, in wine, lots of garlic and onions. Fry rabbit as above and use marinade in the stew too. Enjoy. ymmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I am Maltese and have been looking for an authentic recipe...This is it! Also, I use the leftover sauce to make spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Had this dish today at a school party -- it was delicious! My first taste of rabbit. Very tasty, the seasoning was perfect. I will definitely make this for a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very nice recipe, which I suspect would work just as well with any kind of meat.. We happened to have a rabbit -- a Snowshoe Hare my son got while bird hunting birds. Didn't use a bay leaf because I didn't have any, and used eight carrots instead of two, and also used one of those little cups of bouillon instead of a cube. Otherwise I followed the recipe. Sea salt and good cracked black peppercorns probably helped, too. It was delicious, and dipping some locally made bread in the broth was very tasty. It's kind of labor intensive but worth the effort; I'd give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The recipe is very similar to my grandmothe'rs (minus the fresh rabbit taken from the villa's rooftop cages). This brought back a lot of memories. Unfortunately, I seemed to have bought a tough rabbit that came out a little dry. Otherwise it was as good as I remembered from childhood. Next time will let it cook in wine a little longer before adding starches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
so good replace oil with olive oil makes it so rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wac74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Good. Was the first time preparing rabbit for me. Didn't have a dutch oven big enough, so I browned the pieces in a skillet and put them in a roaster. After browning the meat, I poured the red wine in the pan to get all of the brown bits off then added that to the roaster along with all of the other ingredients (plus a little water). Roasted it for an hour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is an easy and good recipe for rabbit. My rabbits are usually around 5lbs dressed and I would recommend tripling the vegetables, and doubling all other ingredients when you have a larger rabbit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States