Mall Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
These are very good. Not as good as the ones in the mall, but still great. I found them to be to thin if they where rolled "pencil thin" so I rolled mine a bit thicker. I did not use parchment paper, I just sprayed my pan with PAM backing spray and had no problems with them sticking. Overall great pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJHRox
Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is the first time I've made soft pretzels, and they were delicious! Also, very easy to make and fun to roll and shape! I found that my dough had to sit for 2 hours to rise, but other than that it was exactly as stated. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe, except the salt should be added in the flour step and not before. After forming into pretzel shapes, you should allow it to at least double in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
We really like these pretzels. Made the few changes in the preparation based on other reviews, and was impressed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Never did I ever think I could make a pretzel at home. In less than 24 hours we have made 2 batches so I think I've eaten at least 8 to 10. Someone stop me! LOL. These are awesome and easy and this is the first time I've made a dough from scratch. Be aware of the proofing times as they are somewhat important. Too long and the dough becomes unworkable. Baste with butter, top with fresh Parmesan and Kosher salt. Thanks for the recipe - perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLR8R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Seeing as I have never made pretzels before I wasn't sure if I could modify them to make them lower fat, lower cal and still have them turn out but tried it anyway...and they were wonderful!! Made the recipe as is with the following substitutions... 1 TBSP Splenda brown sugar blend instead of 2 TBSP regular brown sugar, 2 tsp quick rise yeast instead of the active dry yeast and Becel 64% less fat in place of the butter! I made mine into 16 pretzels and ended up with the following nutritional info...114 cals, 23 g carbs, 1 g fat, and 3 g protein...and sooo worth every bite! My family is insisting I make more tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEEKYMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nillawafers
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
My first time trying to make yeasty pretzels and it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly, and everything went smooth and as planned. The only thing I did extra was set the dipped pretzels on a (clean) kitchen towel to soak up some of the baking soda solution. They came right off the pan! Also, I did roll them pencil thin or smaller in the beginning but they weren't rising the way I wanted them to, so I made them slightly larger than a pencil (think crayon). They ended up much thicker and softer than my original pencil thin pretzels. I may have let it rise a little too much while doubling, so I would just cook your first batch immediately to see how it rises. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These are great. I make them at least once a month. I use regular flour with 2 tbps of gluten. The texture and taste is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Just tried it tonight. My whole family loved them! A couple of tips to keep in mind - 1 package of yeast equals 2 1/4 teaspoon. I only had bulk on hand, so I had to look that up. And, instead of using bread flour, you can use 1 cup all purpose flour with 2 teaspoons of gluten (flour). Turned out great! My daughter loves getting mall pretzels and she loved these! Thanks for sharing!! A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,070) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States