Mall Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Excellent. However, parchment paper is good to 400°F. These beauties are cooked at 450°F. The first 6 smoked up the house with the smell of burning paper. The second 6 turned out beautifully with a little Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wow! I was skeptical even with all the fabulous reviews, but these taste awesome!!! Mine didn't turn out the prettiest in shape, but I followed the recipe exactly other than the baking part. One reviewer noted that parchment paper is not needed, and she is right. I did the same as her - sprayed the baking sheet with PAM and they slid right off. Excellent!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Okay. Seriously, I normally only like hard pretzels, and usually only eat the soft ones on rare occasions and doused in cheese sauce. But, the kid loves Auntie Anne's pretzels, and I love the kid, so I begrudgingly made these. The next thing I knew, I had eaten two, and was working on a third! Man, are these amazing! I followed the recipe exactly- not a single change. The editor's footnote for rolling the dough was incredibly helpful. This dough is very forgiving and easy to work with. I made traditional shaped pretzels, with butter and salt, and little pretzel nuggets dipped in butter and cinnamon sugar. These were a lot of fun to make, and awesomely delicious to eat! Thanks for sharing a great recipe Jeannie Yee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have never reviewed anything before but I just wanted to say, I made these with my 3 year old today and they turned out really good. I did follow some of the reviews that said to throw them in boiling water/ baking soda bath but that's the only way I really differed from the recipe. I also didn't top them with anything before baking because I'm trying to watch the salt intake of my two little ones. They don't taste EXACTLY like the pretzels you get at the mall but they're still really good. So glad I found this recipe since I've been craving soft pretzels since I got pregnant and this is way cheaper than going to the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Yep. Love em. Used ginger/cinnamon/sugar/salt as my topping. MMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I'm not much of a baker or cook - but I tried my hand at these. I dipped them in boiling baking soda bath (as others have recommended) and used all purpose flour. I buttered and salted them before I put them in the oven. They turned out great! My husband was laughing at me while I tried to roll them out (which was a little bit of a challenge), but he sure is eating his words now! I cut the recipe in half and just made 6 pretzels, which was perfect for me - and I have a KitchenAid mixer too so I kneaded it on Speed 2 for about 8 minutes. Trust me, if I can make these pretzels and have them taste as good as Auntie Anne's - then so can you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
These pretzels were awesome! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out as good as mall pretzels. The one thing I did differently is to make pretzel bites rather than whole pretzels. I rolled the dough and than cut it into bite size pieces and baked them for only 15 min. The whole family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceybaakko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I would not say these were quite mall pretzel's, but so far they were the best of all the recipes I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I used 4 cups of all-purpose flour. The pretzels came out very tasty! I had 2, and my hubby had 3! The kids love 'em too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasia
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Great pretzels! I was looking for a long time for a good pretzels recipe and this is it! Tempted by so many good reviews I've decided to bake them:) Not difficult to work with at all, though prep time is a bit long it's really worth it! I made little changes e.g. first I let yeast-sugar-salt-warm water mixture rest for about 15 minute until yeast began to "work" before i stir in flour etc another change I made is I cooked each pretzel side for about 15 sec in the baking soda solution instead of just dipping them and the last change was a mixture of egg yolk and water instead of butter:) I highly recommend this recipe! Pretzels are simply great! Not too bready, not too hard, just delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States