Malidzano Eggplant Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My fiancee and I LOVED this spread! The flavor was outstanding and, aside from the longish bake time, it was a cinch to make. I will definitely make this for our next family gathering...maybe add some lemon juice just to see what happens? Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Delicious! I used almonds instead of walnuts and added lemon juice. I'm not sure about the proportions - I used one large eggplant and one clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
We loved this! I cut it back to only using one eggplant and it was wonderful. We're making again for a party this weekend. Thanks for the unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wattsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alpha, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a great spread and can be easily altered to suit one's taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have no idea what malidzano is supposed to taste like but this was delicious. It does make alot so I will cut it to 1/3 recipe next time. Very easy and enjoyed by everyone, even non eggplant eaters. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
So the original recipe didn't sound very appealing, however with some modifications my entire beach-family raved about this app. Y'all, roast the garlic while you are roasting the eggplant to tame the "garlic-y" twang. I only used 2, to test, but from now on I will use the full 4 cloves. I added lemon zest and lemon juice to add an extra depth of flavor. I also added Cavender's Greek Seasoning for a bit of zip. I did not peel my eggplant because they were so young and tender. And finally I used a fresh, organic cracked pepper and sea salt goat cheese. Everyone LOVED this appetizer, and with these modifications I will be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsGigi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I left the skin on the eggplant and I must say that I LOVED this dip. It was WONDERFUL. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Was looking for something a bit different for the eggplant in the fridge. I had all these items in the house..... WAS GREAT. I also had a bit of pesto and hummos leftovers and added about tablespoon and a half of each. Family loved it. Will bring it to the next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I grilled my eggplant till soft and it gave it a nice smoky taste. I made it again today and used pine nuts in lieu of walnuts and added a little smoked paprika--it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I replaced the eggplant with zucchini, the feta with cheddar, and the walnuts with peanuts, but...JUST KIDDING! I didn't change a thing, this my new favorite use of eggplant! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States