Malidzano Eggplant Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
traditional melidzano does not use walnuts, it uses breadcrumbs. Also, you should add a tablespoon of lemon juice. Leave out one of the cloves of garlic. Otherwise, this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I have had an eggplant spread at a Romanian friend's house ... this was not even close to as good. First of all, WAY too garlicky..and I like garlic. Secondly, and maybe most importantly, the presentation of this dish is poor... the color of the finished product was a dark greenish gray... luckily I didn't have company to feed it to! I did ask my Romanian friends how they made theirs and basically it was the same, without the cheese and nuts. But for whatever reason this just didn't cut it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Really loved this recipe Samovila! I threw everything into my food processor expect for the feta as I wanted to be able to see the cheese crumbles throughout the spread. Also, I suggest piercing the eggplants before baking them. I didn't and all of a sudden I heard a "BOOM"! When I opened the oven, one of the eggplants had exploded! I'm assuming the moisture is what made it pop. Kind of like popcorn I suppose. Pretty funny; saved me from having to cut it open I guess. Made pita chips to serve with this different and delicious dip. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
So the original recipe didn't sound very appealing, however with some modifications my entire beach-family raved about this app. Y'all, roast the garlic while you are roasting the eggplant to tame the "garlic-y" twang. I only used 2, to test, but from now on I will use the full 4 cloves. I added lemon zest and lemon juice to add an extra depth of flavor. I also added Cavender's Greek Seasoning for a bit of zip. I did not peel my eggplant because they were so young and tender. And finally I used a fresh, organic cracked pepper and sea salt goat cheese. Everyone LOVED this appetizer, and with these modifications I will be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsGigi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My fiancee and I LOVED this spread! The flavor was outstanding and, aside from the longish bake time, it was a cinch to make. I will definitely make this for our next family gathering...maybe add some lemon juice just to see what happens? Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
So, I didn't keep to the recipe, but I thought this was a lovely idea. I had leftover grilled eggplant (soaked in garlic, olive oil and balsamic vinegar) and decided to use that to make this recipe. I blended that with the feta and walnuts, and it made such a beautiful, tasty dip. We had a nice color to our dip, probably because we left the skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Was looking for something a bit different for the eggplant in the fridge. I had all these items in the house..... WAS GREAT. I also had a bit of pesto and hummos leftovers and added about tablespoon and a half of each. Family loved it. Will bring it to the next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a great spread and can be easily altered to suit one's taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I left the skin on the eggplant and I must say that I LOVED this dip. It was WONDERFUL. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have no idea what malidzano is supposed to taste like but this was delicious. It does make alot so I will cut it to 1/3 recipe next time. Very easy and enjoyed by everyone, even non eggplant eaters. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States