Malidzano Eggplant Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
We really enjoyed this dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACQUIELOM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Really loved this recipe Samovila! I threw everything into my food processor expect for the feta as I wanted to be able to see the cheese crumbles throughout the spread. Also, I suggest piercing the eggplants before baking them. I didn't and all of a sudden I heard a "BOOM"! When I opened the oven, one of the eggplants had exploded! I'm assuming the moisture is what made it pop. Kind of like popcorn I suppose. Pretty funny; saved me from having to cut it open I guess. Made pita chips to serve with this different and delicious dip. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I was not happy with how this turned out. It was too much effort for something that I didn't think looked or tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is different. I used Krafts Mediteranian Crumble cheese. I really liked this. My husband just thought it was ok. I spead it on celery and jicama. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Was looking for something a bit different for the eggplant in the fridge. I had all these items in the house..... WAS GREAT. I also had a bit of pesto and hummos leftovers and added about tablespoon and a half of each. Family loved it. Will bring it to the next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I have had an eggplant spread at a Romanian friend's house ... this was not even close to as good. First of all, WAY too garlicky..and I like garlic. Secondly, and maybe most importantly, the presentation of this dish is poor... the color of the finished product was a dark greenish gray... luckily I didn't have company to feed it to! I did ask my Romanian friends how they made theirs and basically it was the same, without the cheese and nuts. But for whatever reason this just didn't cut it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
So, I didn't keep to the recipe, but I thought this was a lovely idea. I had leftover grilled eggplant (soaked in garlic, olive oil and balsamic vinegar) and decided to use that to make this recipe. I blended that with the feta and walnuts, and it made such a beautiful, tasty dip. We had a nice color to our dip, probably because we left the skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My fiancee and I LOVED this spread! The flavor was outstanding and, aside from the longish bake time, it was a cinch to make. I will definitely make this for our next family gathering...maybe add some lemon juice just to see what happens? Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
traditional melidzano does not use walnuts, it uses breadcrumbs. Also, you should add a tablespoon of lemon juice. Leave out one of the cloves of garlic. Otherwise, this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
We loved this dish. With so many eggplant from our garden we're always looking for good recipes. Used as dip for corn chips. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States