Malaysian Mango Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
LOVED this dish. Can't give it 5 stars because of the needed modifications, but I would give it 5 stars with the following changes. I seasoned the chicken breasts with a little salt, pepper and garlic powder. I added 1 clove of fresh minced garlic to the green pepper mix. I also used curry PASTE versus powder. I used 1 tbsp because I love curry, but less would be good also especially if you don't like a lot of spice. Paste adds a lot of flavor. Curry paste can be found at most grocery stores in the ethnic food section or for a lot less money at an Asian market if you have one nearby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is a pretty good basic recipe ( although it could use some salt). However, I'm thinking I'll add cashews next time, and some more interesting spices/herbs - think, ground coriander seed, cilantro etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe! I used two rather large chicken breasts and doubled the sauce to good effect. Added garlic (thanks to previous reviewers!) and used rice vinegar instead of cider. I may also have added additional curry powder (I don't measure very accurately sometimes) because we like it spicy. I'll continue to play with this recipe, but the family was happy with my first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
great! I skipped the brown sugar depending on the sweetness of the mango. came out great. also added garlic and turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is a great dish! You can definitely play around with the ratio of veggies/mango to chicken to your liking. (Since mangos are in season right now, I doubled the mango and used half the peppers.) I also doubled the sauce because my husband likes to put the extra sauce over his rice- but it isn't necessary to do that. Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Over the top! My wife and i totally loved it. We trew in some mushrooms and served it with coconut rice. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was a great recipe to start from. I followed other reviews and added garlic with the onions, more curry powder, salt and some dried coriander. Used and entire onion. I don't like using cornstarch so I added 1/3 can of coconut milk instead and it was amazing. Oh and I also used chicken thighs Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Shazam! I just got done with this dish and it was delish. I didn't do it in the skillet but instead in a pressure cooker (I just got one last week and love it). The chicken came out wonderfully, the mango and curry played off of each other very well and the overall taste was awesome. Definitely on my list of make again! Maybe even next time for more than just me and the wifey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by southerngirl14
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made this as is and like another user said it was missing some salt. I added some garlic salt and it was delicious. As a side I used the middle eastern rice with black beans and chickpeas recipe from this site. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Made this last night for the 1st time. Doubled all but the peppers so we could have left overs. Deboned chicken leg quarters and used them as it was all I had on hand. boiled the bones with a touch of onion and garlic to use for the stock. Used more curry than called for a mix of red curry paste and powdered curry. Had it on the coconut rice from this site as others suggested. IT WAS AMAZING! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States