Malaysian Mango Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was yummy! I cut down on the ginger (because I dont really like ginger) and I also cut down on the brown sugar a bit. I doubled the recipe because 4 people were eating it. We all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is excellent! One can use frozen mangoes and it works very well. Adjust curry to taste, and I added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Not bad. My husband really enjoyed this recipe. I found it to be too sweet for my liking. I would reduce the sugar and add more curry next time. other then that is was good. It was great over coconut rice that I found on this site!! It was very pretty and colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
My husband and I enjoyed this and will make it again, but agreed that it will need some modifications next time. We thought it needed a little more "kick". There's a mango dish very similar to this at a restaurant we love, and it's much spicier, so we're excited to have a recipe that we can build on and hopefully achieve that same taste at home. I will be adding more curry, plus cayenne and/or red pepper flakes to the next go-round. Will also add a little more ginger powder. My husband thought the chicken itself lacked flavor, so I'll take another reviewer's advice to salt and pepper the chicken when cooking it next time. Will also try adding garlic because we're the kind of people who think you can never have too much of it. Also, I didn't have a red bell pepper, and only about 1/3 of a green one, so I threw that in, but my husband isn't a huge fan of them so we decided it would be just as good without them. Will probably make a bit more sauce next time as well, to put on the rice we have with it. Overall, I'm excited to have found something different to add to our regular menu that's also very easy to make. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Add mushrooms Leave out brown sugar Make coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Pawliw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I loved it, really good flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
ok dish. i did as the recipe said, only i doubled it. i was dissapointed by the flavor and the peppers wern't great. that said, the mango was awesome! if i make it again i would put more in. served it with brown rice, which wasn't the best, but it was all i had. it took more than 20 minutes prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.A.P.S.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Shazam! I just got done with this dish and it was delish. I didn't do it in the skillet but instead in a pressure cooker (I just got one last week and love it). The chicken came out wonderfully, the mango and curry played off of each other very well and the overall taste was awesome. Definitely on my list of make again! Maybe even next time for more than just me and the wifey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe! I used two rather large chicken breasts and doubled the sauce to good effect. Added garlic (thanks to previous reviewers!) and used rice vinegar instead of cider. I may also have added additional curry powder (I don't measure very accurately sometimes) because we like it spicy. I'll continue to play with this recipe, but the family was happy with my first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
LOVED this dish. Can't give it 5 stars because of the needed modifications, but I would give it 5 stars with the following changes. I seasoned the chicken breasts with a little salt, pepper and garlic powder. I added 1 clove of fresh minced garlic to the green pepper mix. I also used curry PASTE versus powder. I used 1 tbsp because I love curry, but less would be good also especially if you don't like a lot of spice. Paste adds a lot of flavor. Curry paste can be found at most grocery stores in the ethnic food section or for a lot less money at an Asian market if you have one nearby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States