Malaysian Mango Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I used some of the other suggestions, salt and peppered the chicken, added garlic, added baby corn, carrots and waterchestnuts, and I still had to make loads of modifications to even make it edible. It was not good and it took much longer than 20 minutes to prep. We served it over coconut rice and still my kids didn't like it. I will not attempt this one again. Could not even tast the curry, even though I used double the amount called for. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is a great dish! You can definitely play around with the ratio of veggies/mango to chicken to your liking. (Since mangos are in season right now, I doubled the mango and used half the peppers.) I also doubled the sauce because my husband likes to put the extra sauce over his rice- but it isn't necessary to do that. Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Our family loved it. It's perfect with coconut rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Mmmm! I don't know if I've ever had a chicken dish like this before, so it was very exotic and delicious. Already can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow :) It seemed a little lacking in flavour to me, so I increased the curry and sugar, but couldn't put my finger on what else to add. I also let it simmer for a while after putting it all together to let the flavours go together, and that was a good call. I used 1 normal red pepper in place of the bell peppers called for, and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was a great recipe to start from. I followed other reviews and added garlic with the onions, more curry powder, salt and some dried coriander. Used and entire onion. I don't like using cornstarch so I added 1/3 can of coconut milk instead and it was amazing. Oh and I also used chicken thighs Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I loved this dish. I did double the sauce and add a few different veggies (celery, baby corn...) but it turned out so good! I served it with some coconut rice with garlic and basil and it was a perfect match :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Amazing! I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper and garlic as recommended by another reviewer and it was great. I will make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
EXCELLENT!!! I usually stick to the recipe exactly on the first go however this time I made a few small modifications. First I doubled the recipe, I then cooked the chicken with some minced garlic, I did not have a green pepper so I used two red bells. I added one fresh sliced carrot and several fresh button mushrooms (quartered). I stuck to the sauce exactly and truly this dish was wonderful. The flavor was awesome and the colors were so pleasing to the eye. It was wonderful to eat and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is a fantastic start to a recipe. I made a couple of changes based on what I had on-hand in my spice cupboard and what was in my fridge. Here's what I did: I followed Meg's (May 4) version and doubled the sauce. Instead of adding a second cup of chicken broth, I added 1 cup of coconut milk. I also used curry paste (probably more than what the recipe calls for) and I added about 1/3 cup of coconut milk to the rice so that we had coconut rice (thanks Dutch for the idea!). The result is slightly more naughty than the original, but it was really tasty! My husband and son raved about it and I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was yummy! I cut down on the ginger (because I dont really like ginger) and I also cut down on the brown sugar a bit. I doubled the recipe because 4 people were eating it. We all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States