Malaysian Chinese Style Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This was terribly sweet, and the sweetness of it completely overpowered the flavor of the chile sauce. I'm going to try it again using rice noodles instead of spaghetti, replacing the mincemeat with raisins, at least doubling the chile sauce mixture, and adding crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Um, I'm pretty sure the term "mincemeat" should read "minced meat" - as in ground beef, pork, etc. Using that sweet mixture of chopped fruits that's usually used in pies and tarts just doesn't make any sense. I used ground pork and my Malaysian wife loved it. I was a bit skeptical of the use of spaghetti noodles, but apparently it does taste something like Mee Goreng. Her only advice was to add more chile sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
We have updated this recipe to call for ground pork instead of mincemeat. There had been an error in translation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe was quite good, but I did it a bit differently....I used chicken breasts that I put in the food processor and pulsed until it resembled minced chicken. (Worked great) Couple of bulbs of minced garlic in the oil with the onions and meat. Instead of chili oil, I omitted the sugar all together and used Sweet Chili Sauce. Added some bok choy and carrots towards the last couple of minutes. A splash of Fish Sauce/Patis and some freshly chopped cilantro. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misymiss
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I thought this recipes was alright. I thought the sauce was way to salty. Maybe using low-sodium soy sauce. Hubby didn't like it at all. I served him a plate and he didn't eat it. He made himself a micrave dinner instead. He said it was too dry and I added a bit of water as stated. I will not do it again. =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misymiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Added more tomatoe paste and sauce. Easy and delicious. Kids eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
i really liked this recipe. I was surprised. it had good flavor and spice without being too spicy. my husband had a huge 2nd helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I MADE THIS AND MY FAMILY LOVED IT EVEN MY LITTLE BOY. I HAVE PUT THIS IN OUR TOP FAVORITES.SO EASY; SO EASY;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
The consistency with the egg and the pork is odd which isn't what you want when eating a plain dish like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Ellis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Exeter, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
A little plain, needed more flavor, but overall not bad. It definitely did not need the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States