Malaysian Barbecue Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
We loved this dish. The basil was a great. I had marinaded it for too long so it was a bit salty. Next time I won't let it sit over night. A few hours would be prefect. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Because I was lazy and didn't want to go to the store, I changed this just a bit and used what was in the cupboard. I did not use the dark soy sauce or oyster sauce. I added a cup of water (too water down the saltiness) and I added some ground ginger. They were GREAT...as my husband said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnell Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Delicious recipe for chicken wings and my kids gobbled it up. This recipe is definitely a keeper and part of my rotation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
*****Delicious!!Even better using a whole chicken split in two and cooked in the microwave oven for 15mins.on top and 15mins.on the bottom and cooked in an oven bag to retain the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johntone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
We liked this recipe, but found the flavour a bit strong, which was I think due to the sesame oil, even though I put half sesame and half vegetable oil. Would like to try making again, but without any sesame. Just not big sesame fans, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a hit at my family gathering and my husband loves it. He says it's one of his favorites now. The recipe is a little salty but I adjusted by adding more chicken to the recipe. I changed a few things such as adding maple syrup, chopped red onions and garlic, fresh thai basil & fresh chillies. I also like to freeze my chicken with the sauce ahead time so I can defrost on nights when I don't have time to marinate and prep for dinner. It actually tastes better this way because the marinade soaks into the chicken meat. I've also used chicken thighs and tried baking it in the oven. Awesome Recipe! I don't know why it's not more popular on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made these wings for a block party and they were an absolute hit!!! Everybody wanted to know who made them. My husband cannot wait for me to make them again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NrsMimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I made this recipe and took it to a memorial day picnic and I made 4 dozen and they ate them all up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Raub
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
It is the best chicken wings recipe I've had. I followed the recipe and it is not that salty. I also used a dark soy sauce w/ mushroom flavor, which is also really good. I think it's because of the quality of soy sauce, oyster sauce, and sesame oil. If you buy the good ones from an Asian store, it won't be that salty. If you buy the ones from a regular grocery store, those soy sauce and oyster sauce are SUPER salty and the taste quality is not so good. The brands I used are: Lee Kum Kee (Oyster Sauce), Kadoya (Sesame oil), Koon Chung (Soy sauce - Hong Kong brand), Pearl River Bridge (Dark soy sauce w/ mushroom flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Thanks for sharing the recipe. I've actually reduced the sauce used as suggested..taste great not too salty. I've had made this twice for bbq party and everyone loving it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States