Malasadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
These remind me of my youth in Honolulu. My mom used to make these all the time, but when we moved she lost it. Now thanks to the Internet, I am able to make these yummy donuts for my daughter; she just loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I use to live in Hawaii, on the Island of Oahu. I can personally tell you these Malasadas are outrageously DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2001
This was a great recipe--I hadn't tried to make these for over 20 years and I'm glad I finally did! My husband loved them. We used to get them at Leonard's Bakery in Hawaii but I think these are better! I guess I'll be making them more often since we haven't lived in Hawaii for over 30 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Made these for Malasadas Day (Fat Tuesday) and my 8 year old son loved them.It helped us keep a family tradition going now that we live in Texas and can't buy our malasadas. Sooo ONO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
These were great!! My 6 yr old ate about a dozen of them when he got home from school. My framers loved them too. I will definitely be making these again. These will definitely go into my favorite file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
Onolicious is the perfect word! I used to go to Tex Drive-In all the time for their malasadas, but I've been in Virginia for about 4 years now. Mahalo for sharing this recipe! It brought back memories from the hanabata days in Hilo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPA_GRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This recipe is great, but whatever doesn't get eaten' the day of baking needs to be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Oh these were sooooooooo ono.....one of the things i miss about hawaii are these babies at the punahou carnaval........yummy! *shaka*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
These were very good and easy to make. I made some large ones and they did not come out as well, so stick with the size the recipe recommends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryce Gifford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I lived in hawaii in my teens and this reciepe is just like i rememberd. thank you so much. I've been looking for a good malasada reciepe for about 10 years now and i finally found a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nipomo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States