Malasadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These are tasty! But if you're wanting to follow the instructions on shaping them with a thin center, plan on adding more flour and still having it be difficult to work with--this is like a thick batter or VERY loose dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Loved it, I used coconut oil to fry them in just so they aren't quite soooo bad for you. We also shook them in cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Best thing you can get to Leonard's Malasadas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
just got done making these and i guess its all about what you grew up with. i do agree that they needed to be flattened out with your fingers dipped in milk so that the center cooks. wish they were sweeter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Tried this recipe. Looks and smells like malasadas, but failed in taste. I followed it to the letter, but it didn't taste right. Biting into it was very disappointing, it was not sweet enough. I'm wondering if it was one CAN of evaporated milk as opposed to one CUP? This recipe needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These were great! Took me back to the day of making these in the morning with my Mom. They are much better if pulled apart so the center is very thin without breaking through. The outside rim is more like a donut but the center is crispy and wonderful. There are best when eaten within 24-48 hours after that they get a little stale. But they are so great when fresh. I remember kids coming from all over on Sunday Mornings to get these from my Mom. I run into people now some 40 years later and the first thing they say is remembering coming over to get my Mom's donuts. they just called them ugly donuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I have to say, I was born and raised in Hawaii and this recipe was RIGHT ON! Wow, immediately after taking the first bite, it was "That's it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannyyamamotojr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
NO..No..No!!! Those of you who said to either throw the malasdas out if not eaten the day of baking or to save the dough PLEASE don't do this!!! I'm from the Azores and both of my grandmothers make malasadas on a monthly bases. The dough does not keep well in the fridge. If you have extra try this instead. Malasadas (once made) freeze well, this is why my grandmothers make them on a monthly bases. Second if they're a day old or older pop them in the micorwave for a couple of seconds this freshes them up but don't do it to long or wait long after you take it out to eat...if you do it becomes too chewy or even to hard to eat. If you want to try a little something extra when they're old add a little butter and sugar before microwaving, my sisters and I used to do this all the time for breakfast(ps. a good scoop of vanilla ice cream instead of sugar when they first come out of the frier is a great treat, too). To the one who wanted more dirctions, I undersatand how you feel most Portuguese girls learn all this stuff by watching the mothers and grandmothers, and there's no measuring with cups and spoons, it's a little of this or that. If your dough was watery add about 1/2c of flour to it(kneading in betwean each addition) until it becomes more like a sticky bread dough and it's better to use your hands then a mixer. Make sure you have a small bowl of water (for your fingers) and two forks(for exra spreading and flipping) handy when you start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made these and they were excellent. I read all of the reviews and used some of the tips posted. Most important is DO NOT expect this to be like bread dough; it will be very sticky and does not form into a ball easily. Only changes I made to recipe were to use RapidRise Yeast and I added an additional 1/4 cup sugar. I did not try rolling out the dough; I left it in the bowl and scooped up small teaspoonfuls and dropped them into my Fry Daddy; it worked great. I then filled a small brown paper bag with a cinnamon/sugar mixture and shook each one in the bag to cover. This makes ALOT of dough; I just kept it in the fridge and I got 3 days worth of malasadas out of it. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
The recipe I grew up using for these is bigger but similar and still good. Oh do I remember those trips to Pearl City! Only because we always got to stop at Leonard's lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States