Malasadas Dois Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
i grew up in new bedford, now im living in seattle WA. and these are just as i remember back home. awsome stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Amazing! I let it rise until double then put it in the fridge overnight. The dough was sticky, but the water trick worked to keep your hands free of dough. The hardest part was keeping the oil at the right temperature...the darker ones were nice and crispy though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I combined the dusting sugar with li hing powder, 3 Tablespoons sugar to 1 teaspoon li hing powder. These taste very good! I only rate this a 4 because as written, it is difficult to combine the ingredients. In the future I will add all liquid ingredients to the egg and sugar mixture and then add the liquid mixture to the dry mixture. This is a soft dough, like thick/fluffy pancake batter. Rather than handling the dough I found it easier to scoop some dough with a spoon and push it into the heated oil with an oiled finger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
well It has been a long long time since I have had Malasadas...this brought back memories!Thanks for posting this-my gramma(vova) has passed since and my mom doesnt remember how to make. I can now make this for my children and some day my grandchildren. It was a little bit of trial and error for me getting the dough to rise and it was quite sticky to deal with but I would not add/change a thing! This was so DELICIOUS!! And authentic! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This recipe is a little off. I just made a batch and it was too loose. 3/4 cup of melted butter is too much in itself. 3/4 of a stick maybe? I was really looking forward to having these as I haven't had a good malasadas in quite sometime. I guess I'll just head to Fall River to find some. Please correct this recipe. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
the dough was sticky. let it rise overnight. only rose 1/4, not doubled(i think its the yeast).. so i punched in 1 tsp bakin soda into dough. my first batch was dense . it was 1cm thick. i made the rest into 1 inch balls and rolled about 1/4 inch. half was cinnamon. i froze them between wax paper and place in bowl. cover to stop the freezer taste. they thaw out really fast. didnt deep fry, just fry. use the paper bag method to coat in sugar. these puff really good when i fried them. i always let double for at least 6 hrs. easy and will always make. simply good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
These come out very light and airy. I like a fried dough that's a little heavier, but my Portuguese grandparents thought they came out perfect. The dough is tricky to work with- it's very soupy. I added 1 cup more flour and it was still the consistancy of pancake batter. Next time I think I'll add some lemon zest to the dough for a little more flavor. All in all, a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
My Portuguese mother made malasadas. Now I can share these wonderful delights with my friends in Ocala, FL. This recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I followed recipe exactly but my dough never thickened enough to knead. It was more like a thick batter. I just dropped spoonfuls into oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Made this with my gluten-free flour and they turned out soooo yummy! Definitely time consuming though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States