Making Crispy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Great onion rings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
works and tastes great. works best wit Spanish Onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrooge

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Thanks so much, Chef John, for a batter recipe that doesn't have any eggs in it! What a treat this was...just wonderful :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Chef John...these are oniontastic! just scoffed far too many of these and they were brill! Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Loved them. So crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
The crunch is outstanding! Because I was a little nervous of it being a bland mix, I added some herbs and spices to the batter. The onion rings were sweet and so crunchy. I also used it for pollock that I caught last summer. It also made the fish crunchy. This is the next morning and I just tested them cold out of the refrigerator (I know...) and they are still crunchy! Just to be sure the batter would adhere, I cut everything to size and laid the pieces out on paper towels to dry before preparing the coatings. Then after coating each piece, setting them aside to rest on the cookie sheet until all was prepared. Then I heated the oil and fried the onion rings first before the fish. Wow, best fried food I've ever made! Thanks John! I appreciate your videos very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
These looked so good in the photo and I was very hungry. I had all the ingredients except potato flakes and club soda and the nearest store is 8 miles away. So I improvised and they still came out crunchy to the last bite. I had some jasmine rice so I ground it up in my coffeebean grinder and substituted it for the potato flakes. I also had some rather flat ginger ale, but I shook it up real good. I mixed those ingredients and whipped it really well. I used a regular yellow onion, cut it 1/4 inch slices and kinda dusted them with flour before adding to the batter. Seasoned batter with Tony Chacheres creole seasoning, put them into the panko. Fried them 4 at a time in peanut oil but it took 1 minute or less for each ring. Drained them on a wire rack (good idea) sprinkled them with sea salt. Pretty darn good and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
An absolutely wonderful recipe. My family is onion ring fanatics and they said this recipe was it. Great crunch even when they cool down which didn't happen much as my family was standing there eating them as soon as I would pull them out. We all thank you Chef John for sharing this wonderful recipe and will use the batter with my fried squash next and maybe some other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I followed everything Chef John instructed. I love it. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I followed the instructions exactly the way I remembered it on the video. I had a very difficult time getting the bread crumbs to stick. After the first few onions, most of the bread crumbs got wet, making it difficult to stick onto the new onions being dipped in from the wet batter. Some of my rings winded up with "bald spots" because I couldn't get the bread crumbs to stick. The end result was pretty tasty! Because I had no idea what I was doing despite watching the video like 3 times, I went waaaay over the estimated 30 minutes, and I had a TON of cleaning up to do. After several minutes of cleaning the ugly mess I'd made, I moved all my cooled rings from the wire rack to a plate. The rings were good... but I couldn't help but think that they were no better quality than your typical fast food joint's onion rings. I started walking away from the kitchen with a slight feel of disappointment, when I saw something in the corner of my eye: the fine sea salt that I'd set aside. I realized I'd completely forgotten to salt the rings! I took one, salted it liberally as instructed, and this instantly made everything 10 times more delicious! Totally worth it! I should also mention I tried to use 3 large onions, but it looks like the recipe is only enough for 2 (Chef John's website: Food Wishes says you can use 2-3 large onions). Also, I used Canola Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States