Making Crispy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made these for supper tonight and only changed the liquid, substituting beer for the club soda because I didn't have any. We really enjoyed them so will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made this with Chef John's grilled shrimp recipe the other night for dinner with my husband. OMG!!! I will never, ever make or buy another onion ring other than this recipe. Fantastic!! And the grilled shrimp with the lemon aioli, perfect compliment! (I could watch Chef John's videos all day!). ENJOYED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Still crispy days later. Best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I had to laugh at the reviews that said these were too crispy. That's like a steak that's too tender. These were awesomely fantastic and everyone here LOVED them. These are the best onion rings I've had, including at restaurants. The trick is to use small batches of panko so that it doesn't get clumpy -- if it gets clumpy, it won't stick. As long as you keep adding new dry panko and fry in small batches, you won't have issues with the breading falling off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Phenomenal. This was my first attempt at making onion rings. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I tried mushrooms with this method and they came out delicious. I also tried baking the onion rings as suggested by another reviewer at 425F for 20-25 minutes. They were crispy but not as pretty as the deep fried onion rings. My onion rings are sitting on a plate a couple of hours after being cooked and they're still crispy, just need to reheat them in the oven to make them perfect again. I would try this method on any appetizer that needs to be crispy. Lovely, lovely recipe. Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was great. I have been looking for a way to make onion rings that will not leave them soggy if I have to refrigerate them later. This was the answer. They are so delicious, I can't make them often because I will be huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
hard to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I am no chef so for me to have had these turn out is awesome- they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States