Making Crispy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
These are the most crispy onion rings we've ever had. I gave obey for my Husband to try and he said he will never be able to eat any other rings! My daughter never eats onion rings and after she tried these, she put 4 more on her plate. I kept them in a warm oven while I cooked them all and after about 45 minutes from when I started and being in the oven...they were still as crispy!!!!! Only think I did different was adding seasoning salt right to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Awesome! I have been trying to get the perfect recipe for rings for some time. This was perfect! They turned out just like Chef John said. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Used this on calamari. Added seasoned salt, oregano, and 4 pkts of true lemon to the the batter. Exquisite Pizza sauce on side to dip. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I've made this twice now. First time followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! The second time, used beer instead of club soda, cut the onions thicker, and didn't use any bread crumbs - just the batter.... and they were slap yo' momma good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Crispy - Crunchy goodness. I didn't watch the video before making these and I should have. The first few that I made the batter was really thin and didn't adhere well. In the video, Chef John says to let the batter sit for a bit and let the potato flakes hydrate and the batter thickens up. Make plenty - everyone will want more. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Incredible. As many have, I've been searching for years for an easy and foolproof onion rings recipe. This is it. Chef John, your techniques and recipes are the best. A good friend of mine was frustrated b/c she couldn't get the hang of how to make homemade mayonnaise. She found and tried Chef John's method and it turned out perfectly for her. She was so thrilled, you'd have thought she'd won the lottery! :p Well, now I know exactly how she felt, since I can now (finally!) make homemade onion rings that look and taste fantastic! The only change I made was to use whole wheat flour since that's all we had in the house. These are so awesome, Chef John. You're one of the finest chefs and educators out there. Thank you for giving us this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Tried these -- delicious! I'm not one for stovetop deep-frying, though, so maybe I'll invest in a fryer gadget if I want to make them regularly. Of note -- I only had on hand some flour that was gluten-free, and I used that, mixed with a lesser amount of tapioca flour. Made a few other minor adjustments (smoked paprika, not cayenne, etc.). Regular flour may give a more even, thorough coating, but even so, they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendyws
Home Town: Clinton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Made these twice now, they are outstanding! Used the left over batter up with a hot dog it was better then a corn dog. Because they are so good we had to remind ourselves of the 179 per onion ring calorie count. No dessert for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Scrumptuous! Pure and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Easy and very good!!!! I used vidalia onions. It made them a little sweet. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States