Making Crispy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Just made these! I was convinced that even though he claimed the crunch was the real thing, there must be some sort of enhancement going on, but they really were just as beautiful and as crunchy as the ones in the video. One thing; they took far less time to cook than the recipe indicated. Probably about half the time. Next time, I'll try cutting them a bit thicker, too, as I don't think an onion ring with a little substance left in the onion is a bad thing. Also, as crunchy as these stay, you could probably take the time to make a big batch of them for a larger group and keep them warm in the oven until they were all done with no effect on the quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I've made this twice now. First time followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! The second time, used beer instead of club soda, cut the onions thicker, and didn't use any bread crumbs - just the batter.... and they were slap yo' momma good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Crispy - Crunchy goodness. I didn't watch the video before making these and I should have. The first few that I made the batter was really thin and didn't adhere well. In the video, Chef John says to let the batter sit for a bit and let the potato flakes hydrate and the batter thickens up. Make plenty - everyone will want more. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These turned out great! Deep frying is still a little messy, and even with olive oil, adds calories from fat. On a whim I just tried baking them on a foil-lined sheet in my convection oven until they were crispy. Oh my gosh, were they ever good! Just drizzle with a little bit of olive oil and bake them; no one will know the difference and they are virtually guilt-free! Chef John's outstanding recipe still produces amazingly crispy, crunchy onion rings straight from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLWP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Used this on calamari. Added seasoned salt, oregano, and 4 pkts of true lemon to the the batter. Exquisite Pizza sauce on side to dip. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Incredible. As many have, I've been searching for years for an easy and foolproof onion rings recipe. This is it. Chef John, your techniques and recipes are the best. A good friend of mine was frustrated b/c she couldn't get the hang of how to make homemade mayonnaise. She found and tried Chef John's method and it turned out perfectly for her. She was so thrilled, you'd have thought she'd won the lottery! :p Well, now I know exactly how she felt, since I can now (finally!) make homemade onion rings that look and taste fantastic! The only change I made was to use whole wheat flour since that's all we had in the house. These are so awesome, Chef John. You're one of the finest chefs and educators out there. Thank you for giving us this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
These are the most crispy onion rings we've ever had. I gave obey for my Husband to try and he said he will never be able to eat any other rings! My daughter never eats onion rings and after she tried these, she put 4 more on her plate. I kept them in a warm oven while I cooked them all and after about 45 minutes from when I started and being in the oven...they were still as crispy!!!!! Only think I did different was adding seasoning salt right to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I tried baking these at 425 degrees in the oven for 20 minutes instead of frying - they came out super crunchy and delicious! Not as pretty in color, but the taste and texture were exactly what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Fantastic, Incredible, Delicious and Crispy... Best Ever... Love these!!! I used olive oil as per Chef John's video. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made these to go with a fish fry and used the same batter for both. Very crispy, delicious and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States