Making Crispy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Fantastic, Incredible, Delicious and Crispy... Best Ever... Love these!!! I used olive oil as per Chef John's video. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Just made these! I was convinced that even though he claimed the crunch was the real thing, there must be some sort of enhancement going on, but they really were just as beautiful and as crunchy as the ones in the video. One thing; they took far less time to cook than the recipe indicated. Probably about half the time. Next time, I'll try cutting them a bit thicker, too, as I don't think an onion ring with a little substance left in the onion is a bad thing. Also, as crunchy as these stay, you could probably take the time to make a big batch of them for a larger group and keep them warm in the oven until they were all done with no effect on the quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made these to go with a fish fry and used the same batter for both. Very crispy, delicious and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
The batter did not thicken at all. It was watery. I even second checked my measurements to be sure. I will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
These are the most crispy onion rings we've ever had. I gave obey for my Husband to try and he said he will never be able to eat any other rings! My daughter never eats onion rings and after she tried these, she put 4 more on her plate. I kept them in a warm oven while I cooked them all and after about 45 minutes from when I started and being in the oven...they were still as crispy!!!!! Only think I did different was adding seasoning salt right to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Tried these -- delicious! I'm not one for stovetop deep-frying, though, so maybe I'll invest in a fryer gadget if I want to make them regularly. Of note -- I only had on hand some flour that was gluten-free, and I used that, mixed with a lesser amount of tapioca flour. Made a few other minor adjustments (smoked paprika, not cayenne, etc.). Regular flour may give a more even, thorough coating, but even so, they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendyws
Home Town: Clinton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Made these twice now, they are outstanding! Used the left over batter up with a hot dog it was better then a corn dog. Because they are so good we had to remind ourselves of the 179 per onion ring calorie count. No dessert for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Scrumptuous! Pure and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Awesome! I have been trying to get the perfect recipe for rings for some time. This was perfect! They turned out just like Chef John said. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Used this on calamari. Added seasoned salt, oregano, and 4 pkts of true lemon to the the batter. Exquisite Pizza sauce on side to dip. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States