Making Crispy Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I followed the instructions exactly the way I remembered it on the video. I had a very difficult time getting the bread crumbs to stick. After the first few onions, most of the bread crumbs got wet, making it difficult to stick onto the new onions being dipped in from the wet batter. Some of my rings winded up with "bald spots" because I couldn't get the bread crumbs to stick. The end result was pretty tasty! Because I had no idea what I was doing despite watching the video like 3 times, I went waaaay over the estimated 30 minutes, and I had a TON of cleaning up to do. After several minutes of cleaning the ugly mess I'd made, I moved all my cooled rings from the wire rack to a plate. The rings were good... but I couldn't help but think that they were no better quality than your typical fast food joint's onion rings. I started walking away from the kitchen with a slight feel of disappointment, when I saw something in the corner of my eye: the fine sea salt that I'd set aside. I realized I'd completely forgotten to salt the rings! I took one, salted it liberally as instructed, and this instantly made everything 10 times more delicious! Totally worth it! I should also mention I tried to use 3 large onions, but it looks like the recipe is only enough for 2 (Chef John's website: Food Wishes says you can use 2-3 large onions). Also, I used Canola Oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
OMG!!!!!!?? These were wonderful... My husband and son want to put these in our homemade rotation. Better then most restaurants. Now when we make burgers we will have fries and onion rings... I would have posted a picture but we ate them too fast.. Tip: Preseason the Panko so you can eat as soon as they come out.??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sir Thomas Wood
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Chef John these are prefect. This is the second recipe in a row of yours I can can tell this both were outstanding. I froze some sting cheese then cut them in half so they are about two and a half inches long, dip then in the batter roll them in the Panko bread crumbs. Now that is a perfect cheese stick. Thanks again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Really great recipe. Family raves for the crunchy "O Rings".crispy outside, moist and tender inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Taste was good in the first couple of batches. After that could not get the batter to stick to the rings. May try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I found this to be a worthwhile splurge and everyone loved them. Had to make a special trip to get potato flakes but it was worth it. I used a dutch oven with the oil about 3 inches deep and it worked out very well. Next time I'd like to try baking them and if that brings crispy onion rings without the frying that would be 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Great results from this recipe. I have used it to fry grouper, flounder, and shrimp. as well as onion rings. Everything always turns out super crunchy. It is always a super big hit. Thanks to Chef John for another great way to keep my family happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was a great recipe but was time consuming taking a lot of time from the rest of the meal perpetration. Tasted great, very crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made these for supper tonight and only changed the liquid, substituting beer for the club soda because I didn't have any. We really enjoyed them so will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made this with Chef John's grilled shrimp recipe the other night for dinner with my husband. OMG!!! I will never, ever make or buy another onion ring other than this recipe. Fantastic!! And the grilled shrimp with the lemon aioli, perfect compliment! (I could watch Chef John's videos all day!). ENJOYED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States