Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Oh my gosh. This is a fantastic dish. Despite the tons of ingredients it is really pretty easy to prepare. The chicken is so tender and the sauce is full of rich flavors. It doesn't have a lot of heat, which made it a hit with my child. I was a little afraid she wouldn't like it because she doesn't like curry but this has different flavors altogether and she really enjoyed it. This is going to be a regular feature in the family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I found the sauce a little sharp, but overall was very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I LOVED this recipe! The taste was incredible, very similar to my favorite curry at my favorite restaurant in Japan. I found it a little spicy for my tastes, but my dad thought it was perfect. My only real complaint is I wish it were a bit thicker. I may try adding more tomato paste next time, and less water/juice. (I used a combination of tomato paste and tomato juice to make the puree, my only substitution.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
fantastic. a lot of work but ends up just likne in the Indian restraunts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This was delicious! I made a couple modifications/substitutions (for example, I couldn't find ginger or garlic paste so I used minced garlic and ginger powder), and it still came out great! Thanks for posting this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Great recipe with good, flavorful blend of spices. I used a low-fat Balkan yogurt, and homogenized milk instead of cream. Would use less tomato next time. Looking forward to making this more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
No one in my family liked this. My husband was afraid it would have too much cayenne for the kids so we added a fraction of what it called for. But it was so bland that I added a lot and it still didn't do anything for us at all. The tomato sauce with the yogurt has a strange flavor that none of us liked. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
It just didn't taste like butter chicken at all. However, the next day after refrigerating, the flavors came together and tasted MUCH better. Still NOT butter chicken. Also, I like spicy food and this was way too spicy! So what I would suggest for this recipe is make it a day before and cut down on the chili powder by at least 1/2. If it's not spicy enough for you, you can always add but can never subtract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My husband thought this recipe was great with naan. The flavor is not what I'm looking for so I will continue to search for another Butter Chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States