Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
The extra time spent prepping this dish was worth it. It was incredibly good... though, I agree with another reviewer's comments that the 2c of tomato puree gave it a little sour tang. I will probably cut back a bit on this the next time I make it, and I will definitely make this again! ADDENDUM: 1 cup tomato puree worked much better to get rid of extra tang. Also, save yourself a step and don't bother with the skewers... I just threw the chicken minus the marinade into a glass dish and baked it and it turned out fine; just make sure to strain with a slotted spoon before putting into the last mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I followed the advice of others and added a little more of the spices (and coriander) because I like very tasty food. This was a very simple very good Indian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanineyBeaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe and true to the cuisine. I did end up adding a little more spice (more garam masala and some black pepper), but that was just personal taste. The dish is very time consuming, but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
It isn't quite the same as the restaurant butter chicken I'm used to, but we loved it just the same. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
It was just ok. I have had much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mesquite, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out amazingly authentic. One point though - after stirring in the cream, make sure to cook on medium for at least another 30 minutes for the cream to cook, stirring frequently. You should see oil separating on the surface indicating the dish is ready to serve. Without this extra cooking, it will not taste anything like chicken makhani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I wish I could give this zero stars. I followed the recipe exactly and I did not care for this. This is not Indian food! I would much rather make Chicken Tikka Masala submitted by Yakuta. That is real Indian food. As an intermediate cook, I would recommend using tomato sauce anytime a recipe calls for tomato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This recipe is truly amazing! I did improvise a little, due to time sensitivity, and of course, taste :) First off, I marinated 2 1/2 lbs boneless chicken for 1 hour with the ingredients from category 1 & 2. Then, I placed them in a baking tray (one that lets fat drip, but in this case, any excess sauce) and placed in the oven for 20-30 mins as needed. I improvised to 1 full stick of butter rather than the few Tbsp it called for (considering it's called "Butter Chicken")but followed the rest of the recipe for the sauce making as directed. At the end, I tasted it and realized we needed a bit more honey and a dash of nutmeg, to give it that butter chicken kick... fabulous! And I am giving this guy a 5 star- since this was my first attempt to making this dish that I soooo loved. It brought back soo many memories, and I swear that I have not in a looonngg while tasted Chicken Makhani like this... Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Yes, a little labor-intensive but very very good. No, it doesn't taste like Butter Chicken from my favorite Indian restaurant, but then I've eaten Butter Chicken at several restaurants and none of them have tasted the same. The only changes I made were to omit the skewering step, and just bake the chicken chunks in the oven. I also had to add maybe half a cup or so of milk as the sauce was very thick. Next time, I'll sprinkle some flaked almonds on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
3.5 stars- it was exceedingly yummy, but a star and a half off for how involved it was and how it tasted nothing like the chicken makhani I'm used to. Tomorrow I'm going to try adding more tomato paste to see if it makes a difference. UPDATE: Added another half can of tomato paste. Still nothing at all like chicken makhani. Revised to 2.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States