Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Not buttery enough...need to find different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was fantastic, better then we get at most Indian restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This turned out really good for me just like I used to eat it in restaurants!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Time intensive but well worth the effort! This was fantastic... just enough spice for my palate. There is a lot of sauce, so be sure you have plenty of rice and bread. I could drink this sauce, though. I didn't have garlic paste or ginger paste so I just chopped some up... worked great. We will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
this tasted really good. I love all the spices in this dish. The only negative is that this recipe is time consuming and it tastes pretty much the same as simpler ones. I usually just marinate in the yogurt mix overnight. Also there is soo much chili powder in this recipe (esp considering there is some in garam masala). Adding this much doesn't really help the flavor and if you want more heat there are hotter peppers (such as cayenne). All in all this dish is delicious but I'll probably stick with my simpler one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Dried fenugreek leaves are usually called "kasoori methi." Try that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very nice. Good flavor. I used tomato sauce in lieu of "pureed tomatoes", and would have liked the sauce to be a bit thicker. My husband is Indian, and found the flavor to be very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNPATEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Followed the recipe nearly exactly, with my only addition being an extra tablespoon of chili powder to the sauce at the end (I like things spicy!). It was great, and well-received by my housemates that were unfamiliar with Indian food. Fantastic, will cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matrim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is really, really good and for all the really big tastes in it is actually nicely mellow and fragrant. I added about 2/3 cup chopped cilantro and some steamed cauliflower, which worked out better than I thought it would. You could make this just with the cauliflower and it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Excellent butter chicken. I let the chicken marinate overnight. I have made it several times, each time better than the last. I liked reducing the chili powder in the sauce by about half, and adding half of tablespoon of red curry powder. Like many reviewers, I have found that less tomato puree is better, I use about 1 and 1/4 cup, instead of 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States