Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Great recipe! Add a little more cayenne pepper for a spicier experience, but add additional garam marsala if you do. It will enhance the pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
the only ingredient missing is the fenugreek leaves but you won't miss it--it's sooooooooo yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Didn't turn out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
Terrific dish. My husband is an Indian food lover & he was bowled over by the flavor of this. I followed the recipe & served it over basmati rice prepared in the Persian manner-soaked-pre-boiled & steamed. Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Fantastic flavor takes a long time to make, but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I am a complete amateur at indian food, but I found this one amazing!! Well done, Vijar, and thank you so much! I did not have the green chilles so I omitted them, I also only added garlic once, as one review stated it was overpowering. (in the marinade) I cooked it in the marinade, didn't have any yogurt, but found the chicken still amazingly tender. I didn't have tomato puree, so I used tomato paste and added extra water. I used half and half cream instead of heavy cream. It is obviously a versatile recipe that can withstand small changes, so don't be afraid to amend the recipe to your personal taste. It has tons of sauce, but it is so tasty, you will want lot's of rice and naan to soak it up with. I will definately make this again! Bravo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
If my husband rates a recipe as excellent it has to get 5 stars. It was a little spicy for my kids and I left out some of the Chile pepper. I also left the chicken in the marinade while I baked it - didn't bother to thread it on skewers. A definite keeper I will make again - next time I will halve the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I'm a huge fan of Indian food and go to restaurants around the Bay area all the time. I've always wanted to be able to make my favorite dishes at home, but a lot of the recipes on the internet tasted NOTHING like the chicken Makhani in the restaurants. This recipe was DELICIOUS!! It was actually better than what I've had in restaurants! One note: If you are used to really mild makhani, I'd skip the green chili pepper. Used serrano pepper and it wasn't too spicy but there was definitely a bite. I'll be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was my first attempt at making Indian food at home, so I followed the recipe exactly - only substitution was using skinless, boneless chicken thighs for more flavor. I've always avoided trying to make Indian at home because seems like it would be very complicated, but this recipe was easy to follow and fun to make (if you like to cook, that is). It turned out unbelievably delicious! At first it seemed like too much sauce, but with basmati rice and naan, there didn't seem to be enough sauce! Also, the sauce thickens up by the next day. In fact, as is the case with all curries, it was even more delicious the next day. So we're definitely going to make it again (as soon as our waistlines allow), but we'll make it the night before to allow the flavors to meld even more. Delicious - thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Bow, wow wow!I had been looking for a good butter chicken recipe and hit it on the nail when I tried this. Thanks Vishal for sharing such a terrific recipe. The chicken came out tender as in the restaurants. I must confess though that scared with the reviews of too much chilli, I reduced the chilli in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States