Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious, tender chicken and very versatile. I don't feel like I spent hours in the kitchen making this. The time I spent making this was a little more than ususal because I had to make garam masala (we have no Indian stores nearby so I had to combine my own) and I made ghee. But the recipe is really simple...marinate once, dump yogurt and spices in, marinate overnight. Then make the tomato sauce next day whenever you're ready for it. I didn't put so much garlic in it...too much garlic makes me queasy. I could have put more ginger in it though. I used one small can of tomato paste and put in a LOT more honey and cream to smooth over the tomato taste. But it was great, and you really can adjust it to taste, and I made some rice and naan to go with it. Floral and spicy and fragrant. Very tender chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this Butter Chicken recipe for a Curry Cook Off Contest! I won 1st place!! Thank You for recipe! Mmm Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Delicious ! I minced fresh garlic and added a small amount of oil to make the garlic paste; did the same thing with fresh ginger root to make ginger paste. For the tomato puree, I used a can of crushed tomatoes, which worked out fine, and I omitted the fenugreek altogether. There's no need to skewer the chicken pieces unless you really want to. Once the chicken has finished in the oven, use a slotted spoon to remove the pieces, and discard the remaining liquid (about a cup). Serve over basmati rice and with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was wonderful! i made it for my mother-in-law who is indian and she said it was really good! scored some points! thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Lots of work, definitely not a weeknight dinner meal. Goes well with either brown rice or pure naan. With the leftovers I had a large amount of sauce so I added some frozen peas and fresh mint. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Koganei, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Made this for girl scout thinking day. It was a big hit, as several of the girls came back for additional helpings. I used greek yogurt to cut down on the straining time, and as I could not find fenugreek leaves, I used fenugreek powder and it turned out very well. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I am a fan of spicy food but this came out to be way too spicy and tart.. I added another spoonful of honey and some more cream and it totally fixed it. If your finding that it's too spicy then please try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I love doing this recipie for company because it is so like the restaurant versions. I do not have fenugreek but I usually double the gram masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bebi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
everyone who i have made this for can't wait to come and sample it again... substituting chili paste or sauce for powder brought out an even better flavour and a little more kick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Excellent. Love it. Just like the Indian Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States