Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Oh my gosh. This is a fantastic dish. Despite the tons of ingredients it is really pretty easy to prepare. The chicken is so tender and the sauce is full of rich flavors. It doesn't have a lot of heat, which made it a hit with my child. I was a little afraid she wouldn't like it because she doesn't like curry but this has different flavors altogether and she really enjoyed it. This is going to be a regular feature in the family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I found the sauce a little sharp, but overall was very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I LOVED this recipe! The taste was incredible, very similar to my favorite curry at my favorite restaurant in Japan. I found it a little spicy for my tastes, but my dad thought it was perfect. My only real complaint is I wish it were a bit thicker. I may try adding more tomato paste next time, and less water/juice. (I used a combination of tomato paste and tomato juice to make the puree, my only substitution.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
fantastic. a lot of work but ends up just likne in the Indian restraunts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This was delicious! I made a couple modifications/substitutions (for example, I couldn't find ginger or garlic paste so I used minced garlic and ginger powder), and it still came out great! Thanks for posting this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Great recipe with good, flavorful blend of spices. I used a low-fat Balkan yogurt, and homogenized milk instead of cream. Would use less tomato next time. Looking forward to making this more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
No one in my family liked this. My husband was afraid it would have too much cayenne for the kids so we added a fraction of what it called for. But it was so bland that I added a lot and it still didn't do anything for us at all. The tomato sauce with the yogurt has a strange flavor that none of us liked. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
It just didn't taste like butter chicken at all. However, the next day after refrigerating, the flavors came together and tasted MUCH better. Still NOT butter chicken. Also, I like spicy food and this was way too spicy! So what I would suggest for this recipe is make it a day before and cut down on the chili powder by at least 1/2. If it's not spicy enough for you, you can always add but can never subtract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My husband thought this recipe was great with naan. The flavor is not what I'm looking for so I will continue to search for another Butter Chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States