Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Absolutely delicious, like any butter chicken you'd get in a restaurant. I took out a lot of the chilli as most butter chicken I've tried in Indian restaurants is very mild, and it was still beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Not bad, but too much tomato puree, which made the taste a bit sour. I also didn't find it spicy enough so I added more garam masala to make it more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Excellent! If you love to spend hours in the kitchen, this recipe is for you. Great taste, but not so easy or quick to make. I've tried recipes that are just as good, with easier and faster preparation, so I won't be trying this one again. But it is excellent! To the person who "didn't get the taste of butter chicken at all," your name implies that you may be Indian, so maybe you know more about this subject than I do but: welcome to the world of Butter Chicken. I often eat at Indian restaurants and usually order butter chicken (it is my most favourite dish in the world). I have had butter chicken that is mild, spicy, sweet, bland, yellow, orange, red, almost greenish, creamy, not at all creamy, tomatoey, coconutty, with and without nuts and raisins. Such is the variety of butter chicken recipes - it depends on which part of India the chef hails from. Perhaps this recipe did not tickle your fancy, but it IS butter chicken. Marination in yoghurt is the key to tender chicken, the longer you marinate, the better. I always marinate the chicken the night before, or in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I tried this recipe in a hurry, shortening the marination to a quick half hour, and it still worked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
this recipe was awesome! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I found this recipe wounderful, worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
What a treat! I am not a cook, but we fell in love with Indian Butter Chicken at our local Indian restaurant...I figured I'd try to duplicate it...This was even better...The sauce is wonderful spooned over rice...Now if only I could conquer naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RETRODIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
very very good, although not quite as spectacular as I was expecting. The chicken was fork-tender but not nearly as soft as I've had before, which I was expecting with all the marinating. The sauce is perfect; I added a bit more spice just to make it hotter but the flavour was already spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
I did not like this recipe because, i did not get the sense of butter chicken at all. I followed the recipe (which needs to be fixed because it does not follow correctly from ingredients to steps). I think that this recipe should be altered and made more consistent. I think the roasting tome of the chickens should decrease and the flavor should increase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
this was sooo yummy. the fragrance was thick, the flavors rich and the taste extremely delicious. went well at my indian picnic feast, which i served it with basmati rice, naan, samosas, raita, iced chai tea, and cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States