Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Yum! I changed the recipe a litte (half&half instead of heavy cream, one cup of tomato paste instead of 2, etc.) but it turned out great! I think the longer you simmer the better so if you're not in a hurry, you can simmer it for an hour of more before serving. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
yummy. this is a favorite of my husbands. I prefer to use fresh garlic and ginger but either way is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I made this for my bf and his father - who love spicy food and it was a hit. I reduced the amount of tomato a bit, and added a little hot curry and cayenne to spice it up. Served over rice this was a satisfying dish. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This recipe is excellent. My very favorite take out is Indian and this is just like the resturant that I frequent. The only suggestion is that you cook this dish the night before and reheat and serve. This gives the flavors of the sauce and the chicken a chance to marry. My sister and I cooked an Indian feast for New Years eve this year and my family loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
Fantastic! The recipe has authentic taste, and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
This recipe was fabulous, just like it is from my local takeaway. I didn't bother with the ginger garlic paste, just substituted fresh and it worked fine. The only thing the recipe isn't clear on, that I have found out later, in the grilling chicken stage it is never going to be brown like I would have expected. I cooked it too long at that stage but it wasn't dry because I didn't cook it as long in the sauce. I think next time it will be better because the chicken will soak up more of the sauces flavour. All in all, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This recipe is very delicious. To all the people who cant find garlic ginger paste its in every Indian grocery store. Ive lived in several states and have never had a problem locating it. Of course fresh garlic and ginger works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Very good recipe, the chicken was very tender and had a wonderful heat to it. I followed the advice of one reviewer and cut the tomato puree to 1 Cup and added a dash of sugar to counteract the bitterness. For the amount of chicken I had I thought this recipe made a lot of sauce (even without that extra cup of tomato puree). I served it on a bed of jasmine rice with naan bread and it was very tasty. Also, the spice level is up there so if you don't like spicy foods, cut back on the chili powder. And I also had trouble locating garlic paste and ginger paste in my area so I substituted with garlic powder and ground ginger. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Great recipe! Very authentic. Make sure to use yogurt which does not contain gelatin (it thickens it) otherwise it won't drain properly. I also used chicken thighs instead of breasts-awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Was pretty good. My first recipe using cooking experience.. It was difficult to find some of the spices (well, the garlic and ginger paste) so I just crushed some fresh up instead. I think I'd add some veggies next time.. But, it was definately Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States