Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
i had been craving butter chicken the past while. i'm south asian, and have had butter chicken a lot, and this recipe was dead on for buter chicken. the only thing is it was a bit spicy for me, i will reduce the red pepper in the sauce next time. i didn't have yogurt on hand, so didn't use it for the chicken pieces, which is ok, essentially the yogurt is used for tenderness, and the chicken absorbed the spices which was the important part. used olive oil for marinating, and half oil/half butter for the sauce so the butter wouldn't burn. at the end just stirred in a little bit of butter to makeup for it. my husband and i really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
My family absolutely loved it. My children loved it so much, they want me to make more of it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCASEY816

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Ghent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
We liked this recipe, but we didn't think of it as butter chicken, but some other type of chicken. It didn't remind us much of butter chicken at all. I used fresh garlic instead of the garlic paste (I don't like the acidic taste of garlic and ginger pastes). We had this with naan (indian flatbread) and raita (yogurt with shredded cucumber). I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This recipe was potentially very good but sadly let down by the requirement for far too much garlic. To begin with a large amount of garlic puree went into the ingredients list and then twice more it called for added garlic. Eventually the dish becomes swamped with the taste of garlic and that's detracting from the subtleties of the flavours of spices and the chicken. Also there was a rather over sweet addition of a lot of honey and heavy cream which makes it just too rich. The Chicken Jalfrezi was a much better balanced recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe received 5 stars from my side. I tried so many restaurants in bay area looking for butter chicken which reminds me of flavour i enjoyed in india. But non restaurants had a good one. Finally i tried my own hands and this one came closes to professional one. Must recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Wow! This recipe was fantastic!! I used fresh garlic and ginger but followed the recipe otherwise. I served this to a bunch of picky teenagers and toddlers they couldn't get enough. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Indian (in particular Butter Chicken) is my favourite food. THIS WAS NOT BUTTER CHICKEN. It tasted nothing like it. All it tasted like was Chili & Garam Marsala cooked with tomatoes. Not worth the time and effort at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This wasn't as spicy as I had hoped, next time I'll kick up the spices a notch. Otherwise, this recipe is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Pretty good! It took a while to make and some of the ingredients were hard to get. I ended up roasting garlic to get garlic paste. It was tasty. I'll not be dying to make it again in a rush but it was a nice dish and worth the effort. I served it with basmati rice tinted with turmeric and garlic naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Lawlor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This recipe is good but very involved. I don't see why the chicken needed to be put on skewers. I may make this again - but there are other recipes that are easier and taste similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States