Makeover Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Great tasting recipe that you can customize as needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These were wonderful! You would never guess all of the healthy items packed into these muffins. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
My youngest boy and I made these together right after dinner. We made two small changes--we cut the sugar back to a half cup and we used my homemade apple butter instead of unsweetened applesauce. Right after spooning the batter into the muffin cups, we sprinkled each muffin mound with 1/4 teaspoon of sugar. Our muffins were done at 20 minutes, a little longer than the recipe stated. We haven't tried them yet but they look and smell AMAZING. Very fun to make. EDITED REVIEW: Four thumbs up from both kids. One of the moistest, chewiest and flavorful muffins we've ever made. The kids thought these were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Followed instructions exactly but added 1/2 c. chopped dried apricots & walnuts for pecans (personal preference) these are delicious! Honestly one of the BEST muffins ever! So healthy too. The batter also seems like you could change up the "goodies". Next time I plan to add some Craisins. I ended up with 24 smaller sized muffins and may try to make bigger ones next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I'll start off by saying that I made this with modifications and it was missing something. I did not use the oil and substitued the orange juice for apple juice and it was a little bland. Next time I will double the apples and raisins and maybe even use pumpkin puree like another review mentioned. My husband loved these and didn't think it was missing anything, so who knows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I'm going to give this 4 stars mainly b/c these muffins do allow you to substitute ingredients easily and because they have potential. For the eggs, I just used three eggs. I wanted to add more vitamins/fiber so I used banana puree instead of the applesauce. What I did not like at all was the grated apple. I didn't like the way it looked in the muffin, the way it clumped... next time maybe I will just use more banana puree or more raisins instead. The basic recipe is good though and I will be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
My husband loves this recipe!! He eats a lot of sweets so I added half a cup of chocolate chips to get him to try it and some banana pieces. Instead of grated carrots, I used carrot pulp from the juicer. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I'm really glad to have found this recipe. I made it over further based on what I had and it is wonderfully flexible. I had: mashed sweet potato in place of the grated carrot diced orange in place of the OJ plain greek yogurt in place of the oil diced dried apricots in place of the raisins I also added orange zest, nutmeg and cloves to go along with the orange/sweet potato theme. Finally, I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and added a splash of milk to make up for the orange not being as juicy as 1/3 cup of juice is. They are very dense. Not like bakery muffins, but perfect for emergency snacking and addictive in flavor. Even better the next day and with tea or yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I've made these many times now and today's batch is the best yet. I always double the recipe, and today I used 2c white whole wheat flour, 1c quinoa flour and 1c oatmeal bran. I used 5 eggs, milk (because I was out of oj) and walnuts, coconut, craisins and raisins. Lots of carrot and apple chunked in the Cuisinart. I use muffin-top pans so that I can take them out of the freezer and put them in the toaster. I/3 c measure is great for geting the right amt. of batter in the pan. We love one of these for breakfast and doubling the recipe make almost 30, which we freeze on a tray and then put in gallon freezer bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by durangokid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I LOVE THIS! Okay, it's just a muffin but what a muffin it is. Some changes though... Used a homemade pumpkin pie spice blend instead of simply cinnamon, 3/4 cup chia gel in lieu of eggs (avoiding them to determine an intolerance- chia gel = 1 TBsp. chia seeds + 1/4 cup water), crushed pineapple in an equal amount of applesauce to replace it, 3 cups of grated carrot, frozen cranberries to replace the pecans, skipped the coconut and apple & probably used close to a cup of raisins. DELISH as is, with butter or a little jam for brekkie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States