Make-Believe Middle Eastern Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I thought the recipe was pretty good. The half and half curdled as expected but a bit of corn starch took care of that. I added two chopped Thai chillies (the little red ones) for a bit of heat and a about a tablespoon of greek oregano for a bit of freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was the perfect recipe to use up some dairy we had in the fridge. It came together quickly and the flavors were a nice change for us, as our standard flavors are Italian or Mexican. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
The great thing about this recipe is that it gives you the taste of world cuisine with household ingredients and very easy preparation. My husband and I both enjoyed this meal and we will make it again. The only changes I made were using milk instead of half and half, black pepper instead of white (that's what I had on hand) and adding salt to taste since the recipe did not call for any. I served over rice with some sauteed eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Delicious! I only added 1/2 the cumin, because it is a little spicy. I also saute green pepper slices in the oil with the chicken. It adds a really good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I served this over bulger instead of couscous or white rice - it was great. It also makes a nice leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I didn't have cream so I just doubled the sour cream (used fat free), mixed the spices in the sour cream and added a can of tomatoes, didn't have stewed tomatoes. I also added some toasted almonds. I liked it! Very different but really easy. I will make it again. Make sure you salt and pepper your chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Good chicken. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was great and so easy. Even my "meat and potatoes" fiance loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
My family loves this recipe. I add 1/4 cup golden raisons to add a little sweetness and serve it over toasted pine nut couscous. It's fabulous and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I wish I could make believe I had eaten this. I made this last night and my five year old took one bite and said it was disgusting. He ended up eating a bowl of cereal for dinner. My very easy to please husband took his first bite and said it tastes like chicken and tomatoes. AND I almost doubled the cumin. (When I asked my husband what he would like for dinner tonight, he said "anything as long as it is not what you made last night.") I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States