Make-Ahead Vegetarian Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is a healthy staple in our house. We often modify it to include whatever vegetables we have on hand or in the garden. Also, you can make a bulk batch of spice mixture and keep this Moroccan spice mixture on hand for quicker day-of preparation. This spice mixture makes a great addition to Lamb burgers, a fantastic pork roast or salmon rub, and can be added for a wonderful variation to a stir fry. We love these Moroccan flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious, versatile and cheap! do not skimp on the spices, they are the key. I used what I had on hand as far as vegetables goes and substituted 2 cups slices celery, raisins and canallenni beans in place of white potatoes, apricots and chick peas and used chicken broth instead of vegetarian and it still came out great. Very tasty and filling, enough left for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Followed recipe as is with exception of using spinach instead of kale. Result was very good though seemed to be lacking in some flavor. Flavor was good but a little more subtle than I expected/hoped. I would consider doubling the spice mixture next time I make this (and I will make this again). Oh yeah, if you are not making this for an army, strongly consider adjusting the recipe servings down. We served 4 people and probably have 4/5's of this left over still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
For the love of all that is holy DO NOT DOUBLE THIS RECIPE. I did, thinking it would feed our three person family for three days like that, instead it turned into one of the most absurd kitchen experiences I have ever had, with both my husband and I sous cheffing for hours in the midst of crying babies and toddlers, and ultimately all three of our giant pots so that they couldn't even all fit on the stove simultaneously while it simmered, etc. THIS MAKES A TON OF FOOD AS IS. Unless you are feeding hundred or thousands or hundreds of thousands of people, DO NOT DOUBLE THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristenlouise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This soup is AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! As some of the reviewers suggested, I used the veggies I had on hand. I used some unusual veggies I got in a grab box of organic produce. My stew contained purple sweet potatoes, yellow snap beans, celery, raisins, onions, kale, diced tomatoes, and garbanzo beans. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. Additionally, I had to add a little olive oil with the kale and spices in order to saute them since the pan became dry. This is an excellent and very flexible stew and I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was really good and I followed it exactly. It looks like a lot of ingredients but most are staples. It does have a good hint of cinnamon but the blend of sweet and savory with a good amount of vegetables. I love the variety of flavor within the dish and it was very filling. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Delicious, the best Kale soup I've ever made. The spices make this a wonderful main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe! I had to revise based on some dietary factors and also added a few things....as some other reviews recommended, I reduced the amount of cinnamon. Because my household likes spice, I added a lot more curry powder, cumin, black pepper and also added a bunch of cayenne. I also added more kale (one whole bunch), some celery, 2 zucchini, 2 total cups of lentils - no garbanzo beans, 3 large sweet potatoes (no other potatoes) and added a 32 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I also omitted the apricots, sugar, butter and honey. Yumm--it is so good! As many other reviews mentioned, this makes a large amount of stew so be prepared to eat it for days....or reduce quantities. Overall a really great fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So amazing. I added a lot more kale though... Two whole bunches of lancinato kale. Gets better the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
So very delicious! My 1 and 3 year olds both enjoyed it. Mixing it with plain yogurt was good, too. I was doing this as a last minute dish and didn't have dried apricots or kale, so I substituted raisins and peas. I'll definitely be trying this again with all the correct ingredients. It's rare for my husband to rave about a recipe...Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States