Make-Ahead Vegetarian Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was really good and I followed it exactly. It looks like a lot of ingredients but most are staples. It does have a good hint of cinnamon but the blend of sweet and savory with a good amount of vegetables. I love the variety of flavor within the dish and it was very filling. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious, versatile and cheap! do not skimp on the spices, they are the key. I used what I had on hand as far as vegetables goes and substituted 2 cups slices celery, raisins and canallenni beans in place of white potatoes, apricots and chick peas and used chicken broth instead of vegetarian and it still came out great. Very tasty and filling, enough left for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Delicious, the best Kale soup I've ever made. The spices make this a wonderful main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is an easy, delicious stew with all the flavors of Morocco. I honeymooned there--So, it brings me back! If you wanted to add chicken to this recipe, it would work quite nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbanSpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is a healthy staple in our house. We often modify it to include whatever vegetables we have on hand or in the garden. Also, you can make a bulk batch of spice mixture and keep this Moroccan spice mixture on hand for quicker day-of preparation. This spice mixture makes a great addition to Lamb burgers, a fantastic pork roast or salmon rub, and can be added for a wonderful variation to a stir fry. We love these Moroccan flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Followed recipe as is with exception of using spinach instead of kale. Result was very good though seemed to be lacking in some flavor. Flavor was good but a little more subtle than I expected/hoped. I would consider doubling the spice mixture next time I make this (and I will make this again). Oh yeah, if you are not making this for an army, strongly consider adjusting the recipe servings down. We served 4 people and probably have 4/5's of this left over still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
So very delicious! My 1 and 3 year olds both enjoyed it. Mixing it with plain yogurt was good, too. I was doing this as a last minute dish and didn't have dried apricots or kale, so I substituted raisins and peas. I'll definitely be trying this again with all the correct ingredients. It's rare for my husband to rave about a recipe...Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was fantastic. I left out the dried apricots and lentils as I was trying to keep the shopping list short and I'm not crazy about them anyways. Also, I used spinach instead of kale. Other than that, made exactly as is. The spices were perfect for me. Definitely tasted them without being overpowering. This will be nice in the winter when I want comfort food without the cream, cheese and other fattening ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was very yummy! I didn't have ground ginger or dried apricots but it still turned out great. It fed our family of 4 and there are enough leftovers for 2 more dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Yum! I used fresh potatoes and kale from our garden, and this was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly but opted not to use the cornstarch. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States