Make-Ahead Vegetarian Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The spices are perfect and the apricots and honey really make it. After being on tour and eating nothing but cheap cheese pizza for 3 weeks, this is the first thing I made when i came home. It was glorious and it fed me for a week (AND I froze about 6 cups of it). I added chicken this time and can't wait to impress my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Cotterill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toya
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe to a tee, adding all of the optional ingredients (the water, corn starch and the black pepper) and didn't really like it. I had my mom and step-dad taste it first and they said it was sweet and I asked them if it needed more spice and more salt. My mom said she doesn't know if it's supposed to be a sweet taste or what, because she wasn't use to it. They said more salt at least. Then I taste it and it was just sweet and they were right. This is why I knocked off a star. So after I finished it, I added another 1 tablespoon of the kosher salt, 1/4 teaspoon of Turmeric, another 1/8 teaspoon of curry, about 3 dashes of cumin (I didn't feel like searching for another measuring spoon), 3 dashes of ginger, and I decided it might need a little more spice, so I added 3 dashes of cayenne pepper. I stired it and they said it taste better. My mom said she liked it and would eat it. She said it was a little thick though., I should have not added the corn starch since the potatoes ended up making it thick after I simmered it for 5 more minutes after adding the corn starch and also I forgot to turn the heat back down when I added the extra seasoning (i just wanted to let it simmer a few more minutes). It's still good though. I added maybe a cup more of vegetable broth, then one more dash of kosher salt. I'm scared that adding more broth will water out the spices. It's kinda thick to me, but good. I might put it over Quinoa to get more protein! I give it 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Good recipe, doubled the spices on another users recommendation and doubled the kale. Didn't have curry powder so omitted but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe. I doubled the spices and the kale to suit my taste. The combination of spices is AMAZING! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I served this dish for friends- non vegetarian. They loved it. I too added double the spices, and for an extra twist the juice of an orange . Next time I will double up on the kale aswell. Great easy meal to make for the family to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Love this recipe! I have made it many times (with a few changes). I have 2 girls (6 & 11) & they always devour it. The changes; Sautee 3 cloves of garlic with the onions. I Omit the honey & dried apricots. We are not 'sweet' eaters so the cinnamon is enough for us. I increase the spice mixture to 1.5 (aside from the salt, I keep as is). Use spinach in place of kale (I always have it on hand). I use 'chili' style canned tomatoes & canned lentils. If I don't feel like standing in the kitchen I just throw it all in a pot & let it simmer for a few hours - it still turns out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious! The only change I made was that I added an extra sweet potato in place of the white potato. I absolutely love this recipe and will be making it quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Everyone is asking for it again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We loved this. I might simmer it 15 minutes longer next time to get the lentils even softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this countless times now. It's a staple in our house. We can it eat again and again and not tire of it. I make a ginormous batch and then split it into freezer bags (BEFORE adding the cornstarch). Then, for dinner in a flash, simply reheat the meal in a pot, add the cornstarch, and serve with hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States