Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This recipe is a life save on Thanksgiving day. The gravy is DELICIOUS and it takes all the guesswork out of making gravy on the big day. You can make it long ahead of time and heat it in a crock pot all day or stovetop. No one will ever guess it isn't pan roasted that day. Add some of the drippings to it before serving & you have the best turkey gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I just made this for Thanksgiving and will freeze it 'til then. It's so reassuring to know that I'll have plenty of gravy for my 18 guests, as well as knowing that it's done other than adding to it on Thanksgiving day. I could not find turkey wings, so used 6 turkey drumsticks instead.It worked out fine, and is probably less fatty! Also, I only used 1 1/2 cups broth with the flour for thickening. The flavor is quite good! Once I add drippings from the turkey, I'm sure it will be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
thanks for this recipe, sue! i usually smoke my turkey, so this works out wonderfully...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe! One less stressful item to have to worry about on Thanksgiving! I made a few changes... I poured the pan drippings into a gravy separator; The non-fat portion of the drippings went in with the simmering wings and broth, and I reserved the separated fat to make a roux. I did this by whisking the flour into the reserved fat over medium until golden, and then whisked in all the strained broth and drippings. No floury taste this way! Very excellent, and freezes well... To defrost, refrigerate for 2 days. Reheat in saucepan, whisking often. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I just finished making a 1/2 recipe. The flavor is wonderful. It's great to have the gravy already done and soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Wow, finished this gravy today, and it is fantastic. I'm storing it in big jars in the fridge until Thursday. I did do a couple of things differently, though, and thought it might be helpful to share. I had a large package of chicken thighs in the freezer that I had gotten on sale, and decided to substitute these for the turkey wings. They worked great. I used a good quality powdered chicken broth instead of canned broth. I also added 1 tablespoon of salt to the finished gravy...I thought it needed it. After roasting the chicken & onions, I used my large stockpot with a pasta insert for the next step. I put the chicken & onions and other veggies into the pasta insert, and of course, the broth went over top of it. When it was time to take the chicken/veggies out, drain and press out the liquid, it was a snap having used this pot. Also, since I used chicken thighs, there was plenty of useable meat. I boned the chicken and put all the meat an vegetables into a casserole for supper tonight, along with some noodles and a cup of the homemade gravy, mixed with 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Tastes great! AND I have fantastic gravy ready to heat up on Thursday. I'll be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I'm only giving this a 4 but I think it could be a 5 if the directions are changed slightly. I should have followed my gut feeling and reserved the separated fat to make a roux. If I would have done this there would not have been a floury taste. Do this by whisking the flour into the reserved fat over medium until golden, and then whisk back into the strained broth and drippings. I'll have to make my gravy tomorrow with my turkey drippings after all but maybe I can add this floury gravy to it. Hate to waste it but can't serve it the way it taste right now. Excellent concept with minor changes!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma G

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Worked great - I had chicken wings and legs on hand so that is what I used. I also used home made stock instead of canned and what a taste difference it made! I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made 32 servings and it is perfect. We deep fry our turkey; hence, no gravy. This is a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! I made this gravy two days before Thanksgiving and it was excellent. I am going to cook my turkey carcass with the same method and make another batch to freeze for my New Year's Day meal.Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States