Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
One more thing that doesn't have to be made on Thanksgiving day...hooray! I was pleasantly surprised at how well this turned out. There were some reviewers who said this tasted like chicken gravy, so I opted to use turkey broth (available in those quart boxes). I'm doing a recipe this year that calls for boneless turkey breasts, so when the butcher boned the breasts, he gave me the turkey bones. I cooked the bones with the broth, which I believe enhanced the turkey flavor. I also made a roux before adding the broth, so that eliminated any flour flavor you would have by just adding flour to the broth. And the side benefit--I now have enough meat picked from the wings for a nice pre-Thanksgiving casserole tomorrow night! Winner in my book and going into my Favorites folder. Thanks Sue for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great as written, which is how I did it the first time. Now I us turkey tails instead of wings (more fat=more flavor). I wait until the day I want to use the gravy and skim off the fat, use that to make a roux which I cook long enough to get rid of the raw taste. Then I use the drippings from the turkey aong with the made-ahead broth. My aunt says the gravy is why she looks forward to Thaksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Colton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I would change something for this recipe as well. I use the neck from my bird (which I always brine) so the neck is 'accessed' 2 days before Thanksgiving. Have to admit I use BIG bird so I generally have a large neck to work with. I use the neck plus the onion and add carrot, celery and some garlic all drizzled with just a bit of olive oil and roast before putting it all in the stock pan. There's really no need to add chicken broth because we want TURKEY flavor, right? If I want chicken gravy, this recipe would be fine. Add 6-8 cups water to the pot and let it go for several hours seasoning along the way. The broth should be rather dark in color (if the veggies & neck were roasted enough) and very rich in flavor. Make gravy using this stock and you'll have a great TURKEY gravy rather than mostly chicken flavor gravy. I've actually made this stock and frozen it for later use (like Christmas) when needed too. I'd make the roux with skimmed fat as well as some have said. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Excellent flavor, but a lot of trouble. Made exactly as written, so I can't offer any suggestions. This will be made again come Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great recipe....very tasty. I love making the gravy ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Didn't have much flavor in my opinion. Will try again and adjust rating if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This recipe has saved my turkey dinners. Excellent flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The secret to a relaxing preparation of the Thanksgiving meal--if that's possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I've made this several times and my family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowlands, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This gravy is so tasty. I always use turkey drumsticks instead of wings. The meat turns into a nice little treat that we get to eat the day we make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States