Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Excellent recipe and yummy gravy! It was so nice to have this done ahead of time and it makes lots. I couldn't get turkey wings so I used a turkey "hind quarter" piece (leg/thigh/etc) and I forgot to put the onions in the oven with it so those were added to the broth step. It was great and so smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It was perfect make ahead, took a ton of stress off of the day. I did make a roux using the butter and fat from the turkey and the flour. I added to it from the drippings from the day and it was perfect, it was perfect way to make sure I had enough gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Gravy was good but not exceptional in light of all the work is was to prepare ahead of time. I prefer cornstarch base to the flour, this seemed a bit heavy to me. I think I spent more effort making gravy than baking the turkey. Next time I will go back to my pan-drippings and make the usual gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Amazing!!! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent, since now on, I am in charge of the family gravy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is amazing! I will never make turkey gravy any other way. It takes extra planning and time a few days ahead, but was so worth it not to be making gravy at the last second. I used 3 large turkey legs because thats what the store had. I seasoned them a little before roasting, and drizzled with olive oil. I added celery to the pot when boiling as well. I followed other reviews, and took the broth after cooking, allowed to set up in the fridge, and then removed the fat from the top. I used the fat as well as a little butter to create a roux with the flour and then slowly added the broth to it. I was afraid it wouldn't reheat well 2 days later, but it was perfect! My husband suggested next time I add the meat from the turkey legs to the gravy as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
If I could give this recipe ten stars I would! This was hands down the best gravy I have ever tasted. This was my first attempt at making gravy and it was a homerun! I followed the recipe to a t, except I used Wondra flour instead of regular flour. Wondra flour makes gravies and sauces really smooth. My boyfriends mother tasted it as it was reheated and proclaimed it divine, then demanded the recipe. I made this two days in advance of Thanksgiving and just kept it in the fridge. It reheated beautifully. This will be my Thanksgiving recipe for the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is hands down the best gravy I have ever tasted. It was so nice being able to prepare it the day before and not having that last minute stress on Thanksgiving day. This year we fried two turkeys in the deep fryer outside so this is a great recipe to go with that since you don't end up with any nice drippings from roasting a turkey in the oven. DEFINITELY will make this every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Time consuming, but definitely worth it! Got rave reviews on this at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made this gravy for the past three Thanksgivings. It is DELICIOUS! I find that using chicken wings and a couple of chicken thighs gives it the best flavor. I make it thick enough so I can thin it with some of the pan drippings from the turkey (I use wine & butter to baste my turkey). I will never leave gravy until the last minute again!! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA
Living In: Bowdoinham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States