Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
this is the best gravy ever, bar none. I found it last year and did a repeat performance. Cut amt down this year, won't make that mistake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
...and I thought that I made really good turkey gravy... This is wonderful, but very rich! I made it a little less rich by adding some more chicken broth and tightened it back up. When I use a thickener without a roux, I simmer for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. I initially made this because my hubby is deep frying a turkey this year and I wanted gravy, but I think I will always make my gravy this way now. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
the very best gravy I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This gravy rocks! I am a big time cook and I LOVE to make Thanks Giving dinner. But, I also want to have fun and relax with my guests on the holiday. Making this ahead of time is key for me to have both good gravy, and good fun. Also, my taste tester was grinning ear to ear when I made it. (It is SO super easy to make, but don't tell your guests that.) I made it ahead of time and added my turkey drippings to it on Thanks Giving Day to get some more homemade flavor in there...doesn't need anything else though...it's heaven the way the recipe reads. (If you do add your turkey drippings to it: Put premade drippings in sause pan and warm on low heat, whisk often. Skim fat out of dippings and put the good stuff in a small sauce pan over low heat. Slowly whisk in flour to thicken, go slow so you don't over thicken or make lumps. Once you have the consistancy you want slowly whisk drippings into warmed premade gravy. Simmer for about 4 or 5 minutes to allow flavors to combine whisking often.) Don't cut this recipe in half because you need lots of gravy for leftovers. Don't add too much flour - all the reviewers that say it was too thick clearly don't know how to use flour. And finally, don't use yucky box gravy. You can do this! Its so easy and rewarding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
What a disappointment. The only thing I did different was to use turkey legs - I could not find wings. The gravy tastes like flour. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Time consuming, but easy to make and well worth it! I did do a few different things, I seasoned the turkey wings before roasting and roasted carrots and celery along with the onions. I also substituted chardonnay for the water. The aroma in my kitchen was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Hands down the best gravy ever. I cant believe i made it. Got huge browny points with the wife
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Gravy turned out well, but it took hours to finish. Not at all certain it is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I am trying this now. After cooking the turkey parts with the onions (and a tossed a little Herb de Provence on top), I added everything to the crock pot to cook slowly for 4 hrs. Smells great. It seems very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I just finished making this gravy. Yummy and full of flavor. I only gave it four stars because I altered it a little so can't rate the actual recipe. I used legs and thighs instead of wings. I was lucky enough to find turkey stock and used that instead of chicken. I also took the advice of one of the other poster and combined the skimmed fat with the flour and cooked it with the two remaining cups of turkey stock. When finished, added a little morethyme, some ground sage and salted to taste. It seems like a lot of work but it isn't really, just takes time more than anything. Having this done ahead of time will really take the stress off on turkey day. My only concern is will it still be thick the day of serving? I'll let you know. This is a keeper and I will make again assuming it doesn't turn to water when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States