Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Been making this recipe for years and everyone loves it. I roast the carrots with the turkey to give it a deeper flavor and use gluten free flour so family who have this intolerance can share in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I thought it was wonderful! I just finished making it today, and on Thanksgiving my plan is to keep it warm in a small crock with a small ladle, let my guests slosh on gravy to their heart's content. I only used 4 turkey wings because that's all my store had. I added 2 ribs of celery, chopped. Otherwise I made it exactly as stated, and it is delicious. Best of all, next week when trying to get all the other dishes out and hot, the gravy will not be of concern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I would make again with a few changes. Would add celery and garlic for more flavor. This gravy is better than store bought and much better then trying to make gravy at the last minute (and mine is usually a failure or not as good as this recipe). I followed the recipe and it made over 4 cups. The flavor is bland, but when I reheat it on Thanksgiving I will add celery salt, a bit of garlic powder and some pan drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Couldn't buy turkey wings so used the wings off turkey I had and bought a package of 7 chicken wings - worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
We always deep fry our turkeys so this recipe is great for us! And even if you don't it's sure nice not to be in the kitchen making gravy at the last minute before serving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This gravy is good, but not good enough. I made it for Thanksgiving using turkey wings and it came out good. The second time I made it, I used turkey drums, which came out OK. The two times I made it, it had different taste. I also didn't find that it had a lot of flavor. I give it two stars because It was still good to eat, but there was no consistency. I don't think I'll make this again because it might turn out different again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very time consuming, but worth it. I'll be using this again next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Came out perfect, great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This gravy was absolutely amazing! This was my first Thanksgiving cooking dinner for my fiance's family so I was a bit nervous to wait until the last 5 minutes to make gravy. At least this way I could taste it and make sure it would be a hit, and it was. I was a bit concerned when I went to heat it up and it looked like a big blob of nasty, but it thinned out to perfection after a few minutes. I would recommend like other reviewers to stick with the portion of the recipe as-is, I think the servings are very small as listed. I was feeding 5 people, made the recipe for 10 servings, and ended up with about a cup of gravy. Ended up having to go back and make another batch, but even after that hassle I know I will be going back to this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I have NEVER had a more tasteful and delicious Thanksgiving turkey dinner because of this AMAZING gravy recipe!!!! Added all my 'day of' drippings, and I am still in awe... everyone raved about it and the fact that I made it the day before was just brilliant! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States