Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This gravy is good, but not good enough. I made it for Thanksgiving using turkey wings and it came out good. The second time I made it, I used turkey drums, which came out OK. The two times I made it, it had different taste. I also didn't find that it had a lot of flavor. I give it two stars because It was still good to eat, but there was no consistency. I don't think I'll make this again because it might turn out different again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very time consuming, but worth it. I'll be using this again next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Came out perfect, great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This gravy was absolutely amazing! This was my first Thanksgiving cooking dinner for my fiance's family so I was a bit nervous to wait until the last 5 minutes to make gravy. At least this way I could taste it and make sure it would be a hit, and it was. I was a bit concerned when I went to heat it up and it looked like a big blob of nasty, but it thinned out to perfection after a few minutes. I would recommend like other reviewers to stick with the portion of the recipe as-is, I think the servings are very small as listed. I was feeding 5 people, made the recipe for 10 servings, and ended up with about a cup of gravy. Ended up having to go back and make another batch, but even after that hassle I know I will be going back to this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I have NEVER had a more tasteful and delicious Thanksgiving turkey dinner because of this AMAZING gravy recipe!!!! Added all my 'day of' drippings, and I am still in awe... everyone raved about it and the fact that I made it the day before was just brilliant! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I only had 4 turkey wings but kept everything else the same. The process is long but worth it. Excellent homemade gravy! I added giblets with the carrots. This made plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Everyone LOVED this gravy. It is a bit time consuming but worth the effort. Curious to see if freezing it alters the flavor at all. I just emailed this recipe to two family members since they loved it so much ! We used homemade chicken stock instead of store bought. WORTH THE EFFORT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Unreal. Best gravy I have ever made. It took all day two days before. Used 6 turkey legs from the meat section at Walmart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was so happy to find this recipe after realizing that being our first year deep-frying the turkey we'd have no drippings for gravy! Ran to the store & found turkey necks very cheap. Used those along with some homemade chicken stock I had in the freezer. Added a couple ribs of celery to the roasting process & other than the above changes stuck to the rest of the recipe & instructions. Added plenty of pepper to taste (& a few fresh basil leaves I had leftover) & this was just some fantastic gravy that our meal would not have been complete without!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Been making this gravy for years now. Started making 'make ahead' dishes for my Thanksgiving meal back when I had to work on the holiday (nurse). That way when I came home we were ready to eat! This gravy is exceptional! My family loves it. You get so much creamy smooth, flavorful, beautifully colored gravy. I follow the recipe exactly as written. I honestly can't say enough about how much I love this gravy! Now that I'm retired I still 'make ahead' this gravy, my mashed potatoes, my cranberries, sweet potatoes, and corn casserole! That way when my family comes I can enjoy them because I'm not running around in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States