Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was excellent. I made it for Thanksgiving, and this was the first year I had enough gravy for all the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was almost the best part of this year's Thanksgiving feast...no waiting until right before dinner to make the gravy and hope it turns out okay. This is easy, convenient, and SO flavorful! I used four GIANT turkey wings, which seemed to be enough for this recipe. I also took one reviewer's suggestion and made a roux with the butter, flour, and some of the chicken stock and added it at the end. I made it first thing in the morning, and kept it hot in a crock pot until our mid-day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Perfect! Followed directions exactly and it came out perfect - i will use this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Wonderful addition to my Thanksgiving dinner. This took off all of the pressure off right before serving dinner. Also, it was perfect because one of our turkeys was deep-fried so we didnt' have "drippings". This is the best make-ahead gravy recipe that I have tried and will be a staple in the years ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lemke Nugent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My first real turkey gravy, and it tasted amazing. I made this for thanksgiving; when the turkey was done, I cut the wings off, and boiled them in a crockpot overnight with the ingredients listed, then followed the directions. (I made a roux with the fat from the liquid) It was awesome- thank you so much for this recipe- it has become my permanent turkey gravy recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Even with ALL the great reviews I was skeptical that I could make this gravy one day ahead, put in the frig and it would still be great. I am VERY happy to say this gravy was EXCELLENT the next day! Thank you for this recipe and taking the stress out of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! We fried a turkey, so this was a perfect recipe for us. It turned out a huge batch, so I was able to freeze some for Christmas. Thank you Sue, this is going to be a classic for our holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Actually, I have to revise my first review. I could live with the lumps, but there were a ton of them (despite the fact that I added the flour gradually, which almost never works, I should know by now), and the gravy tasted like flour and nothing else. Had to throw this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I will never use another gravy again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
WONDERFUL! This gravy is going to be in my recipe book for years to come. Just made it last night so it would be ready for Turkey Day today...and my mother and I cant stop dunking in it or just eating spoonfuls! WE LOVE IT. Local supermarket didn't have enough wings so I got 2 thighs to supplement. wish I could give this more than 5 stars....ITS THAT GOOD! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States