Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
AMAZING!!! I added a bulb of garlic (cut in half) and whole pepper corns when simmering on the stove. Everyone LOVED it. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
this was perfect, and reduced the chaos. highly recommend this, and stick it in the crock pot to keep warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have to agree with another review. The gravy is quite good, however the added time and expense preparing this was not worth the effort. Even for gravy-phobics, making good gravy is not a science....Too-Knorr makes a pretty good mix if all else fails! I'll go back to my standard "last minute gravy" for the next go-around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I tried this method, didn't have turkey wings, used chicken thighs. The roasting with veggies made a tremendous difference. The aroma of the gravy was great. The flavor was so much richer. I will use this idea for gravy (Holiday meals) in the future. It's worth the extra effort. Thanks for the great tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beattyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Positively delicious. But, to me, the only way to justify the (fossil-fuel) electricity use is to put the wings/legs in at the same time as the main-deal turkey and simply make the gravy earlier in the day - alot more relaxed and we're in the kitchen anyway! Thanks! Roasted stock ingredients is an inspired idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I am not a gravy maker, but I had great success with this. My guests at Thanksgiving gobbled it up on their turkey and dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Simply to avoid the last minute stress this recipe is worth it. Really its the same thing but on a smaller controlled scale. Make a rioux then add it to the broth, bring to a boil and simmer. Also, I added 1 packet of McCormick's to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gweb8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Excellent gravy & a great time saver when you are trying to pull everything together at the last minute. There was plenty left over and it worked great in the Turkey Pot Pie recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
There is never enough turkey gravy for hot turkey sandwiches on the day after Thanksgiving. This recipe solves that dilema. PERFECT! Definitely 5 stars!!! We will make this gravy every time we roast a turkey. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was perfect! I made it ahead and froze it for Thanksgiving. On the day, I had forgotten to leave it out ahead of time to defrost, so I heated it slowly over a very low heat. Thought it would get lumpy and I would have to whisk or strain it, but it turned out perfectly and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States