Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Just made this today to freeze for next weeks Thanksgiving dinner. Like others, I couldn't find turkey wings so I used 3 turkey drumsticks and a package of chicken wings. When I chilled this to skim off the fat it was more like a gelatin (did I do something wrong?). Anyway, I went ahead and added some butter to what fat I could scrape off the top of the stock. I cooked the flour before adding the additional broth. It is pretty tasty, but I felt it needed a little something so I added a bit of poultry seasoning and a little more thyme along with salt and pepper. I plan to freeze this and HOPE it comes out good on Thanksgiving day! I will try to add some pan drippings from my turkey that day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
this is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belle River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This kicks heinie! For those of you that think it's too time consuming, it takes a few minutes more than making a good brown poulty stock & is well worth it. I'm sure you could make chicken gravy this way too & you'd always have it on hand when you need it. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! Love it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe will take all the stress out of turkey dinners. It's foolproof. One time when I couldn't find turkey wings, I substituted chicken wings and added a dry package of turkey gravy at the end, and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Outstanding gravy & definitely takes the pressure off of making it the day of an event! Time-consuming, but super tasty results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I make this with turkey giblets andneck as well. I cook on the stove top with the veggies and then strain all with cheese cloth. I then follow therecipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is the BEST gravy recipe ever!! I'm making it today with turkey drumsticks and using it as abase for soup......The gravy was absolutely heavenly!! You wont be disappointment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I did make this a couple of days in advance and was glad on Thanksgiving morning. It did cut down on the worry as I am not a wonderful gravy maker. But I was very happy with this and the amount that it made and I will use this as my go to recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
just, OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States