Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Fantastic! I used 2 large turkey backs instead of wings and cornstarch about 3/8 cup, instead of flour and it turned out great!! Refrigerated it overnight and it was delicious for Christmas dinner!! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
The only thing I do different is put in 1/4 white wine when I'm whisking in the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cottleville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
OMG, this is FANTASTIC!! I only used two wings & used boullion instead of chicken broth. The best gravy ever. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I just made this yesterday for Christmas dinner. It makes the most delicious, smooth turkey gravy! (I used Wondra flour as that dissolves easily and makes very smooth sauces/gravies. Many people complained of a floury taste. Do EXACTLY as the recipe says and boil for several minutes (I boiled for 5 minutes) and the floury taste disappears. It's in my freezer now all ready for Christmas dinner and I'm happy to have that out of the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was one of the best gravys I have ever tasted. My family loved it. Instead of the wings I used Jeanio breakfast links (turkey). I also tried making 1/2 of this recipe and it served 5 people nicely. It was so nice not to have to make the gravy at the last minute. Highly recommened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great Gravy! I cooked this the Saturday before Thanksgiving and froze it until Weds. I followed recipe as directed, but used 2 very large turkey wings, it came out perfect. When unfreezing I put in the crock pot on low for a few hours. It will appear lumpy, but a quick wisk will fix that immediately. Taste was just like out of a jar/packet, but better. Nothing fancy-very simple, just great gravy and it got rave reviews. Worth the time if you're poking around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNTONE6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe is amazing. Followed other's suggestions to make a rue with the fat from the turkey stock. Amazing flavor and one less thing to worry about tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Sue, thank you so much for this recipe. I've just finished making my gravey and it turned out wonderful. This is the 2nd year in a row, and this time I decided to double it. I figured since I was going through the steps, I might as well, now I have plenty for tomorrow, and some to freeze for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this last night for our dinner tomorrow, it is absolutely awesome. The only thing I did different was I used 3 wings and 3 thighs. The house already smells like thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe...Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
delicious! I made as directed, only I used the remains of a chicken we had for dinner the night before and threw in a bit of fresh sage and a bay leaf. Easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States