Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I have been making this for Thanksgiving the last few years because we always deep fry our turkey and there are no left over drippings. Made the day before and I followed the recipe exactly, except when it came time to combine I simply made a roux and then combined with the stock. Was rich, delicious, and reheated perfectly the next day. Everyone loved it, and it's way better than that jarred or canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Made this yesterday. Fantastic! My only change was to use 3 turkey legs instead of wings, and added the meat from one leg (chopped) to the gravy. I also used 2 ribs of celery. I plan on adding the cooked giblets from the turkey on Thanksgiving. I've never spent this much time on gravy, but you can taste the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is SOOO good! I did not have wings, so I used 3 drumsticks and about 1.5lbs of chicken hearts/gizzards. It didn't give me as much gravy as I was hoping for, but this was so good, I will make more. I also added a few TBLSP of fresh parsley. I think it gives the gravy a nicer look. I also made a roux and did it that way. this was my first real attempt at a gravy, and it turned out wonderful. This is definately going to be my go to recipe. To make a roux: use some fat (I didn't have much, so I used the 2 TBSP of butter in the pan as well) and warm it up. Then continue adding a little bit of a flour at a time, until all 3/4 cup of flour is gone. I also had to add some broth the more flour I added. The roux is a thick consistancy and then I added it slowly in to my other pan over medium heat and stirred very frequently for about 5 minutes. Update: I had frozen the gravy in a ziplock container. I put it in the fridge the night before Thanksgiving. In the morning after I got my turkey in the oven I took the gravy out and put it in the crock pot. Put it on low for a few hours, then an hour and 1/2 before dinner was served I put it on high, and just asked anyone who walked by the crockpot to stir it. It came out PERFECT. It was creamy, not thin, and there weren't any lumps. It made the final part of Thanksgiving much less stressful. I actually remembered the rolls early on and didn't burn them because I wasn't fussing over the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The turkey wings were difficult to find, so next time I'll use 3 turkey legs. I added a gravy ladle of turkey drippings when I reheatied it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This recipe is a life-saver! Last Thanksgiving I fried our turkey, which freed up my oven for other dishes....but still needed gravy for our stuffing, mashed potatoes, etc. This gravy was as delicious as any I've ever made, and eliminated the last-minute making the gravy step. Since I didn't have a turkey taking up space in the oven, I was able to make more side dishes. Our best Thanksgiving ever....thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
The gravy was very good, but a lot of advance time and effort. I don't think the 10 minute time saving on turkey day was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
You can't go wrong with this recipe. I have made it the last two years and just love it. Can't wait to make it again........so delicous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I would have given this 5 stars however, I changed it slightly. I used turkey thighs and legs for a more flavorable base. Then I made a roux with the reserved fat and added it to the base. Great time saver, freezes perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is my first review. I use this web site all the time and never commented on any recipe, though I've loved most of them. This gravy was fabulous! I followed the recipe as written and everyone raved about it at Thanksgiving. I was glad I made it because my turkey had very little drippings which would've been a disaster without this make ahead recipe. Will definitely be making this again. Like another reviewer suggested, buy the wings when they're on sale and freeze them. That will reduce the cost. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe and made last year's Thanksgiving dinner less stressful for me. I'd rather do the work ahead of time and know that everyone will love the gravy. Thanks for sharing this - I'll be making it again soon for this Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States