Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I just found this recipe TODAY and I made it...ITS THE BEST GRAVY I'VE EVER MADE IN MY LIFE!!! Takes a little time, but is so worth it! I had to use poultry seasoning instead of the thyme. One less thing to do on Thanksgiving! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Driscoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
The taste is very good. I did make the roux as many others suggested. I also put pieces of the turkey in the gravy for "authenticity". This is a fabulous solution for the "big holiday". However, it is very time consuming. I did not stray from the ingredients listed. I did have to use 6 turkey legs as that's what was available at the store. This gravy takes just as long as cooking a whole Turkey on Thanksgiving. But I will say, it takes alot of stress out of an already stressful situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent! Making the gravy a day or two ahead of time eliminated soooooooooooo much time and stress on Thanksgiving day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I cut this recipe down by half, and still had plenty. No one could believe it was homemade. They thought I had bought itl I put some of the turkey wings into the gravy! This is time consuming, but worth every minute. Next time I will make the whole batch and freeze what I don't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this recipe last year for the first time. I always got so frustrated being in the kitchen making gravy while everyone else was having fun! It is EXCELLENT. The only thing I changed was that I used 2 turkey wings instead of 6. I left the rest of the recipe as is. I also shredded the turkey meat and put it in the gravy at the end. It is outstanding! Last year I used what was leftover and put it into turkey soup. It was the best turkey soup I have ever made. Excellent recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving two years ago because we never had enough gravy for a crowd. I plan to make it again this year since we are having a fried turkey but still need gravy for the dressing and mashed potatoes. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
We always deep fry our turkey, so I made this gravy today. I did as some other reviewers suggested and made a roux with the fat, then whisked in the turkey stock and chicken broth. I used 2 wings and cut the recipe down accordingly, as there will be only 4 of us for Thanksgiving. I think something is wrong with the proportions, however, as I made a third of the recipe and came out with 1 cup of gravy (original yield=8 cups; 1/3 recipe should=more than 2.5 cups). Oh well, I have 1 cup of REALLY tasty gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmarkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
i will add Wonder flour right to the gravey or make a rue first then i add it to the gravey..otherwise you will get lumps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I just made the make ahead turkey gravy from this site and although it was a 3 hour process to roast and simmer, it was TOTALLY worth it! So for those of you who are hosting and hate the last minute prep rush before serving on Thanksgiving day - go buy turkey legs and make this tomorrow!!!! It turns out really well. Mmmmm gravy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This turkey gravy is probably too much work for a smaller get together, but when I had 20 people for turkey dinner this gravy was essential! I changed it a little. I used 3 turkey legs, did them in the oven, let them stew a while with the veggies in the crock pot with the majority of the chicken broth. There wasn't a lot of fat on the top when I took the solids out, so I just spooned about half or more of the liquid (including fat) into a pan on the stove and did the flour bit like regular gravy. Then I put this mix in with the rest of the broth, stirred and voila. All in all I ended up with a ton of perfect gravy that heated up the next day just fine. It was pretty hard to mess up, which I can't say about day-of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States