Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
just, OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I NEVER make gravy, but, when I hosted my first Thanksgiving this year, packaged gravy just wouldn't do and anything I could get done in advance was even better! I made this two days ahead and it got awesome reviews! I subbed some of the water with white wine at my Mom's suggestion, but, otherwise kept it the same and I would highly recommend! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This saved me so much time the day I made my turkey. I couldn't find turkey wings, so used 12 chicken wings instead of 6 turkey wings. You can always add the drippings from the roast turkey pan to this gravy, but it's great on its own. I like that it made lots of gravy, far more than I ever get from the usual pan drippings. Huge time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a lot of work for a rather bland gravy. I even added onions and celery to the stock for the simmering step. It's not bad, just not that great. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Excellent gravy! Made a couple days before Christmas and just heated it up on Christmas day. I will definiitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
AMAZING!!! I added a bulb of garlic (cut in half) and whole pepper corns when simmering on the stove. Everyone LOVED it. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
this was perfect, and reduced the chaos. highly recommend this, and stick it in the crock pot to keep warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have to agree with another review. The gravy is quite good, however the added time and expense preparing this was not worth the effort. Even for gravy-phobics, making good gravy is not a science....Too-Knorr makes a pretty good mix if all else fails! I'll go back to my standard "last minute gravy" for the next go-around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Audi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I tried this method, didn't have turkey wings, used chicken thighs. The roasting with veggies made a tremendous difference. The aroma of the gravy was great. The flavor was so much richer. I will use this idea for gravy (Holiday meals) in the future. It's worth the extra effort. Thanks for the great tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beattyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Positively delicious. But, to me, the only way to justify the (fossil-fuel) electricity use is to put the wings/legs in at the same time as the main-deal turkey and simply make the gravy earlier in the day - alot more relaxed and we're in the kitchen anyway! Thanks! Roasted stock ingredients is an inspired idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States