Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shawna Bailes
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I just finished making this gravy tonight to simply reheat tomorrow to go with Thanksgiving dinner. I substituted the neck and giblets for the wings since my husband prides himself on his turkey frying and doesn't let me touch the bird. I also used home canned chicken stock in place of the broth. It looks amazing for my first time making gravy homemade myself! The flavor is awesome too. This recipe is easy and amazing- definitely will be used for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Bailes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! So easy and great to have done the day before the holiday. I will probably use this throughout the year as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I followed my gut & made a roux with what I skimmed off the top and the butter which I doubled. I also minced 1/2 of the meat and added to the gravy. Tomorrow when I make gravy from the turkey dripping I will ad this make a head gravy to it. We like gravy on our turkey, stuffing and garlic mashed potatoes so there is no such thing as too much gravy. THANK U SUE! I used to make my extra gravy using extra necks very similar to this. The neck meat is very tender and tasty but work to get the meat off the neck bones. Much easier to get the meat off wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Loved it! It takes some time but pays off. Its delicious and such a plus to make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Can I successfully replace the flour with corn starch for a gluten-free gravy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This recipe was easy and delicious. Having this ready ahead was a plus when getting dinner to the table. It was a tasty addition to the left over turkey and dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Amazing! I had to use smoked turkey wings because that's all that was available. It was perfect! Only other thing is I added a touch of Chicken Bouillon to the gravy to give it a stronger overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is by far the best gravy I've made. My husband loves it! I tweaked it just a tad, partly out of necessity. After considering other reviews I roasted half wings and half drumsticks on convection. Because I didn't pay careful enough attention the onions came out slightly burned. So, I added some more quartered onions and some celery at second cooking. Then I remembered my gravy separator broke last year so I refrigerated it overnight so it would be easier to skim off the fat. I then decided to make the roux as one reviewer suggested but when I added that to the simmering broth it was lumpier than I like my gravy to be. However, a minute with an immersion blender took care of that nicely. The end result is wonderful. I made enchiladas last night and used the leftover meat and the pressed veggies and they were yummy. Thanks, Sue for a great recipe! What a time saving this will be both at Thanksgiving and Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have been doing this for years and it always comes out PERFECT!!! I now use a few thighs. I also add carrots and celery, parsley in the stock pot and drain all that before adding the flour. I also add some poultry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Birdie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Excellent!! Love this idea and the gravy really was very smooth and delicious. I also add a clove or two of garlic while roasting the legs (in place of wings). And I always use corn starch in place of flour in thickening my gravy. The color stays more vibrant and the flavor is more velvety. (I think flour makes gravy taste a bit pasty and it's murky looking.) Try the corn starch and see what you think. A chef gave me this tip years ago and it makes a pretty big difference (for the better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States