Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I love finding a great recipe that I can make in advance and bake the following morning for breakfast or brunch. This coffee cake was wonderful – ideal flavor and texture. I’m not a fan of nutmeg so I did half nutmeg, half cinnamon and it was perfect for us. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Great recipe - delicious, light and moist. I prepared in a 9 x 13 glass dish and placed in refrigerator last night, this morning I removed and allowed to warm on the counter before placing in oven. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Next time I make it, I will add 1 teaspoon of salt because I used unsalted butter. Thanks for sharing Maridele - it is a keeper and we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is easy and delicious even for those of us who don't plan ahead and forget to put it together the night before. I made a batch this morning start to finish and it turned out delicious! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe with us Maridele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is terrific first thing in the morning with your coffee. Making it the night before makes it so much easier to have the fresh baked goodness bright and early. I omitted the pecans due to allergy and added a bit more cinnamon...the whole house smelled great as an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Quick to put together. Bakes up tender and moist. I have a DD who hates nuts so I put chocolate chips and only a little cinnamon and brown sugar on 1/4 of the top and it was just as good. May try adding blueberries to the inside of the cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
So easy -- it was great to wake up the family to the enticing smell of the innamon-laden topping. This is a wonderful and simple treat for brunch or any weekend breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy_tx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This recipe is easy to make and so tasty its a keeper.Thank you Maridele. What is strange is its title why is it called a coffee cake when coffee is not included in the ingredients list? Nice cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I will make this again, very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made half of this recipe in an 8” springform pan. The only changes I made were to omit the nutmeg as I’m not a fan, added 1/2 t. vanilla, and I increased the pecans to around 1/3 cup for my half recipe. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. I love the fact that you can make this ahead. Maridele, this is a wonderful coffee cake. We really enjoyed it and I’ll definitely be making it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Wonderful! Simple to make, smells great, and is light, moist and yummy! I added a touch of cinnamon to the batter and a teaspoon of vanilla too. Made a 9x13 and gave a few plates away! After my husband and I sampled 2 pieces each, we made sure to keep a plate for ourselves too, although I woudn't mind making another batch soon! Thanks for sharing the great recipe! Preparing brunch was so much easier just having to pull this out of the fridge and popping it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States